Misdirection.

30 Mar

You guessed it: still no pics of the pinwheel in action, so I’m distracting you – hey, look, it’s a meme!

These are the rules!

1. Link to the person that tagged you.
2. Post the rules on your blog.
3. Share six non-important things/habits/quirks about yourself.
4. Tag six random people at the end of your post by linking to their blogs.
5. Let each random person know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their website.

My six quirks:

  1. I talk to myself. Not constantly, and not in a drowning-out-the-voices-in-my-head kind of a way, but I find it helps me to stay on track when I have a list of things to accomplish. I will quite often be puttering about the house mumbling things like “Okay, I’ve washed the dishes, now I have to make the beds, and then it’s hoover time”. This caused Tech Support no end of confusion when we were newlyweds, as I’d be wandering about muttering under my breath, and he would think I was talking to him. As you can imagine, I love to chant the Kitchener Mantra when I’m grafting a toe: “Knit/purl, purl/knit”.
  2. On Planet Kate there is just one (1) right way to iron a shirt. I don’t enjoy ironing at all, but if I have to do it, I’m going to do it right, and in the correct order. First the collar, then the button bands, then the sleeves, shoulders, and then work your way around the body. Tech Support used to volunteer to do his own shirts, but I couldn’t stand the sight of him doing it all wrong, and I couldn’t even go elsewhere while he did it, because I knew he was doing it all wrong, and I would have to run back there and do it properly. OCD, anyone?
  3. I have mentioned this one elsewhere, but it’s an issue about which I feel quite strongly, so I will go over it again. Jeans should be blue. No other colour is right in my book, and you will never catch me wearing black or brown or red or any other colour (on a related note, there was a brief period a few years ago when a certain overpriced jeans retailer here in Australia was selling jeans made from “wool denim”. Now you all know I love wool, but denim is made from cotton, people, not wool!)
  4. I have a thing about garden shows. I can’t get enough of them, especially if they are hosted by Alan Titchmarsh or Peter Cundall (this probably has something to do with the fact that my grandfather was a gardener, and was born in Durham in the north of England). Sadly, I have inherited almost nothing in the way of Pop’s green thumb. Still, every year I make the effort, and bit by bit the garden is improving.
  5. I have always loved to read, and my taste in reading matter is eclectic to say the least, but if you tell me I have to read something by a certain date, I suddenly develop the attention span of a goldfish.
  6. Although I’ve never been hypnotised (as far as I know), I’m very suggestible. If someone yawns, I’ll immediately start yawning my head off. If I read or even think about yawning, it can set me off. I’m yawning right now as I type this. I also pick up other people’s accents and speech patterns very easily. When I was 14 I was good friends with an English exchange student at my school, and although she was the only British accent in a school of just under a thousand Aussie kids, I picked up her accent, not the other way around. If I’m reading a book where the characters’ dialect is very specific, I will start speaking in a similar pattern. Even the formal tone of a Jane Austen novel does it to me.

There you have it. I chose to do this untagged, from Mandie’s blog. I’m not tagging anyone – if you want to play, feel free, otherwise no pressure.

Leave a Reply

