I Bought Me A Present

1 Apr

When I got home from work this afternoon there was a parcel on my doorstep. It had come all the way from Texas (yep, the big one over there, not the teeny little town on the NSW/QLD border).

A couple of weeks ago, a certain bad influence emailed me a link to this site. She knew perfectly well that I was getting my first pay that very day, but she sent me the link anyway (because, as previously mentioned, she is a BAD INFLUENCE). To cut a long story short, I decided to treat myself to some sock yarn.

buttload.jpg

Twenty skeins of it (and baby, is it ever soft!). That is enough for ten whole pairs of socks. Sasquatch has already bogarted the green for his bedsocks. Boyo wisely decided to wait until he could see it in person. If you’d like to see the individual colours, it will be going in my Ravelry stash tonight.

Hey, you know that scene in American Beauty? I reckon I’ve almost got enough sock yarn to recreate it. If only I still had a figure like Mena Suvari’s.

10 Responses to “I Bought Me A Present”

  1. Carol April 1, 2008 at 8:44 pm #

    I am in awe of your stash … that sounds almost kinda dirty doesn’t it, ROFL.

  2. amy April 1, 2008 at 9:46 pm #

    Dude, my Ravelry friend activity is totally dominated by your yarn! Good for you. Although I would feel completely stressed by the fact that I had all that sock yarn that needed to be knit. I still haven’t dived into the Knitpicks sampler I got last fall… just started working on non-socky things instead. I feel a bit bad about that. It’s such nice yarn…

  3. Mandie April 1, 2008 at 10:05 pm #

    Me? A bad influence? You ain’t seen nuttin’ yet sister….wait ’til July rolls around….!!

  4. Taphophile April 2, 2008 at 7:14 am #

    I wondered at my friend activity on Rav and here’s the explanation. Totally Mandie’s fault – you’re not in the least bit to blame. You would have been had I succumbed to that link, but luckily I am the epitomy of yarn moderation ;).

    Great haul in some lovely colours.

  5. tinkingbell April 2, 2008 at 1:29 pm #

    I love it and you’re a baaaaaddddd girl for including that link – does it feel nice? It is soft and squishy? Good colours? Gotta get me some (after the 21st of the month!)

  6. tinkingbell April 2, 2008 at 1:32 pm #

    Forgot! How much was shipping? I want soooooo much!!!

  7. Kate April 3, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    You are a bad bad girl!! You should be spanked (with skeins of sock yarn of course)
    But I am strong! I can resist!! I can wait until I get paid (bring on the 25th)!!!
    :>

  8. KTMay April 10, 2008 at 5:18 am #

    Whooooaaaa! Back up! Would you just LOOK at that pile of yarn?!?!?! Oh my…I want to toucccccchhhhh it! Sorry I’ve been out of the loop, kiddo, and thank you for your well wishes for Vinnie!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Moving Right Along*… « Kiss My Frog - October 13, 2008

    […] Do you remember the present I bought myself with my first pay? Well, I won’t say I bought an entire bag of sock yarn […]

  2. You be the Judge « Kiss My Frog - November 10, 2008

    […] little back story is necessary here. In March when I bought the Big Bag O’ Sock Yarn, Sasquatch expressed his preference for the “gween wool”. There were several skeins in […]

Leave a Reply

