Weirdness

12 Apr

The human body is a very peculiar thing.

Last weekend the boys were starting to give all the classic warning signs that they were coming down with colds (you know the sort of thing – Sasquatch got all clingy and followed me around like a lost puppy, Boyo got a dry, constant, irritating cough, etc), so I laid down the law: “No one,” I decreed, “is allowed to get sick until the school holidays”. No sooner were the words out of my mouth than I heard the faint sound of Murphy laughing his arse off, and I knew I was in trouble.

Along about Tuesday morning, when I had a bit of a tickle in my throat and started losing my voice, I decided the smart thing to do was take a trip to the chemist and get some cold/flu meds to get me through the rest of the week in one piece. By Wednesday night, when I had to attend the P&C* meeting at school, I was sounding like a thirteen-year-old boy, my voice creaking and squeaking and breaking at inopportune moments. By Friday lunch time I sounded like Louis Armstrong, and when I had to ring one of my suppliers to put a two-week hold on a standing order, she thought I was a man. The oddest part of it was that I didn’t feel sick – I just had a weird voice and my throat was a little bit sore. I fully expected that I would wake up this morning feeling like death, but I don’t – I’m actually feeling fine, and my voice is starting to come back. I honestly don’t get it, but I’m not going to question it. I’ll stick with my current regime of pounding down fluids like there’s no tomorrow, and trying to avoid unnecessary talking (yep, with two boys around, there’s a plan that’s sure to work!). School finished yesterday, so I have two whole weeks to baby myself back to normal (for me).

Anyhoo, there’s been knitting happening; the Lily cardi is now just about waist-length.

I’m just so happy with how it’s turning out! I have to work about 5cm straight stocking stitch, and then start the waist increases. By my calculations, I should have just enough yarn to make it as long as I want it to be (knock wood).

Also, this weekend I’m starting a two-woman knitalong with Becky. We are knitting these socks, and I have been swatching (no, really, I swear I feel fine!).

I’m not entirely sure – I love the Araucania, and I love the Salto pattern, but I’m not sure I love the two combined. What do you guys think? Is the variegation smothering the cable pattern? Do I need to use a solid colour?

* For those of you in other parts of the world, P&C stands for Parents and Citizen’s Association, and is an organisation dedicated to interfering assisting in the smooth running of a school community. Rather like the PTA in America. As Canteen Supervisor, I am employed by the Canteen Committee of our school’s P&C, and therefore required to attend the monthly meetings. Ick.

6 Responses to “Weirdness”

  1. amanda j April 12, 2008 at 2:48 pm #

    That is gorgeous yarn. I think it looks fine with the cables. Your cardigan is looking lovely too! Not long now!

  2. becky c. April 12, 2008 at 10:33 pm #

    Your swatch is lovely! I think that yarn looks great.

  3. cathy April 12, 2008 at 10:48 pm #

    LOL,Im a School Council Member, I have to also attend monthy meetings,Ick especially after a 5am to 2pm work day,to try not to express my opinions Too loudly,LOL
    I like the colours and the pattern but like you not sure they will go together,sorry not much help either!!

  4. dropstitchknitter April 13, 2008 at 9:39 am #

    Glad you’re not getting sick afterall!! And Lily looks beautiful – you’re going to love it when it’s done – I wear mine more than anything else I’ve knit!

  5. tinkingbell April 14, 2008 at 12:14 pm #

    I like it – but I se your problem – I really want to knit these, but think I’d go for a semi-solid? Ah yes – I’m on the P&F – Isn’t it odd how many children at school appear to be orphans? Only about 8 kids at our school apparently have any parents – judging by meeting attendance and work around the school!

  6. Carole April 16, 2008 at 8:05 pm #

    Doing great on the sock and I love that yarn! I have not made socks yet but hope to go down that path one day soon. I have so many things i want to knit first.
    Thanks for sharing with us other knitters!

Leave a Reply

