“The only thing which separates us from the animals…”

15 Apr

“… is our ability to accessorize”, or so says Olympia Dukakis’ character in Steel Magnolias.

So with Miss Lily all but finished, I got to thinking about closures. The pattern calls for a simple tied closure, but I decided that I wanted something a little different, and seeing as how it is made in a denim yarn, I thought a nice little hook-and-eye arrangement in bronze would be cool, to tie in with the jeans feel. With this in mind I went to a local button shop (conveniently situated two doors down from my LYS), and when the lady served me I opened by saying “I’m about to be difficult”. You see, I have a habit of coming up with a brilliant idea, and knowing exactly what it is I want, only to discover that exactly what I want doesn’t exactly exist. So I explained what I was looking for (having completely forgotten to bring Lily with me), and she reached behind her without even looking and pulled down a jar from the shelf. And there it was, exactly what I wanted (I promise you, that never happens to me!). I didn’t do a dance, but I may have hopped a tiny bit.

Then she said, “Look, I’ve got a different one in pewter, which would also work nicely with denim”,

And she is absolutely right. It is too cute for words, though I’m still leaning towards the bronze. And yes, the fact that I’m showing pics of both means that I bought both sets. Because whichever one I choose for this cardigan, I’m quite certain the other will find a home sooner rather than later.

And while I was so close to my lovely LYS, I couldn’t not go in and see if they had a solid sock yarn that might work for the Salto pattern (speaking of which, go read this. Does the woman know me or what? I laughed and laughed), which they didn’t, so instead I bought this

to hold closed my pinwheel sweater, which I was wearing, and which has a slightly annoying tendency to slip off my shoulders (not the sweater’s fault – my shoulders are a bit too broad for that unstructured style of cardigan) and yes, I know I still haven’t organised Tech Support to take pics of me wearing it, but I swear, it will happen this week, because I can’t in good conscience do the Lily Cardi’s photo shoot if I haven’t first done the Pinwheel’s. I simply can’t afford to have my wardrobe hate me – I have enough sartorial issues without that!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a cardigan to finish. Yay!

4 Responses to ““The only thing which separates us from the animals…””

  1. amy April 15, 2008 at 10:00 pm #

    Buttons and closures are SO important. I bought some at Webs this past weekend, which will be shown when I finally sew them on. I don’t have a good button source any closer, really. I really want to make that Lily Cardi at some point. I’m thinking in KnitPicks CotLin, a cotton/linen blend. I love the denim, though. I just doubt I’ll find a denim affordable enough to make a sweater out of. Unless I find a sale. Hmm.

  2. cathy April 15, 2008 at 10:06 pm #

    Oh My!!! Love that clasp!!!!!I have a hidden UFO in that same colour in denim cotton and its still hidden as the dye leaked over my hands and it was rather stiff to knit but I hope to dig it out again soon!!!!
    You ve given me ideas..no I cant its a zippered hoodie,oh well…. yours will look fantastic with either one but the bronze does it for me!!!! And yes that scarf will be well used,LOL and Ive already looked to see if I can get some to play with!!!!

  3. becky c. April 15, 2008 at 10:14 pm #

    Those clasps are great! I vote for the bronze one. And the wooden pin will work so well for the pinwheel – I use a shawl pin for mine. I found my denim yarn the other day and I really should do something with it!

  4. Kate April 19, 2008 at 7:38 am #

    Ok, I know I’m a couple of days behind, but I vote for the bronze!
    And I’m breathless with anticipation for modelled shots!

Leave a Reply

