Brick House.

20 Apr

Finally, the FO pics of my Pinwheel Sweater:

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern:
PInwheel Sweater by Shelley Mackie
Yarn: Elann Lara mercerized cotton 5ply/sport weight; 10 skeins
Needles: 4.5mm Knitpicks Harmony interchangeable circulars, changed to 5mm for edging.
Modifications: I don’t crochet, so after much deliberation and many swatches, I designed my own very simple garter-stitch and eyelet edge treatment, which I love.

It took some doing, but I’m very happy with the end result. I can only assume that the girl in the pics on this pattern is tiny, because there is no way that I could have got a full-length sleeve and a crocheted edge out of this much yarn. I normally buy an extra ball or two in case of emergencies, but because of the way crochet eats up yarn, I figured ten balls would be plenty. Not so; I barely had enough, and I had to block it hard to get the size I wanted. But the finished product is lovely, and I’ve gotten quite a bit of wear out of it, though it will be going into winter storage fairly soon, as the 3/4 length sleeves and the open gauge won’t be warm enough for very much longer.

5 Responses to “Brick House.”

  1. Donyale April 20, 2008 at 9:19 pm #

    It’s really lovely! Damn you – another the rav queue.

  2. becky c. April 21, 2008 at 12:22 pm #

    I LOVE IT!!

  3. cathy April 21, 2008 at 9:46 pm #

    Can I say Oh My again!!!? You did a great job! I may be tempted to try this one day too!

  4. Taphophile April 25, 2008 at 8:26 am #

    It’s totally divine! Great job. 🙂 Love the simple edging.

  5. Kate April 29, 2008 at 6:50 am #

    WOWEE!!! Fabulous, daaaaahhhhhlinggggg!!! Label me impressed!
    :>

Leave a Reply

