Lily.

20 Apr

Presenting Lily Blue Jeans.

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern:
Lily cardigan by Marie Grace Smith.
Yarn: Elann Den-M-Knit pure indigo cotton, mid indigo colour, 11.5 skeins.
Needles: 4mm Knitpicks Harmony interchangeable circular
Modifications: I left off the front ties and replaced them with a hook-and-eye, and I worked a little bit of an underarm gusset, but otherwise I followed the pattern exactly.

This has been my first top-down jumper, and I loved every minute of it! Everything is so much easier when you can try it on as you go, and there’s no words to describe how glad I am not to have to sew the bugger up! Marie Grace’s pattern was clean, concise and very well laid out; a pleasure to read. I’ll be making another one of her designs very soon. The yarn was lovely to work with – I know a lot of people don’t like cotton yarns, but I love them, and this one in particular. The only complaint I have is that a couple of the skeins were a bit knotty, but other than that, I would definitely buy this yarn again, especially from Elann, whose service was beyond fantastic, and the speed of delivery was mind-blowing – from Canada to Australia in three days flat!

There is no part of this experience that hasn’t been fun, and I’m completely in love with the finished product. This cardigan is exactly what I hoped it would be, and that has never, ever happened to me before; there is always just a couple of tiny things I would change, a couple of mistakes I wish I could go back and fix, but Lily is absolutely perfect and I love her to bits!

6 Responses to “Lily.”

  1. 2paw April 20, 2008 at 9:01 pm #

    Both your new cardigans are lovely!! And it sounds like this blue one was a lot of fun. I havve issues with photos of models too, I like to see how something might fit me!!!

  2. Donyale April 20, 2008 at 9:20 pm #

    I love the clasp = I have some similar. This cardi looks so comfy.

  3. amy April 21, 2008 at 12:06 am #

    Oh my goodness, two BEAUTIFUL cardigans! What a treat to visit your blog this morning! I like cotton yarns, too. Really, I’m going to have to knit this sweater. Once I get through a chunk of that ridiculous to-do list I’ve posted. 🙂

  4. tinkingbell April 21, 2008 at 2:00 pm #

    Lovely x 2 !! They both look bautifula nd I love the clasp! You are waaaaayyyy beyond clever!

  5. cathy April 21, 2008 at 9:47 pm #

    Perfect !!!!!!

  6. Kate April 29, 2008 at 6:54 am #

    Lily is GORGEOUS!! (as are you too, of course, but knitting comes first!)
    Well done, hon!

Leave a Reply

