Happy Blogiversary to me!

5 May

A happy birthday to my little blog! Just about this time last year, the Sockapalooza 4 Blog got so much traffic that it threw up its virtual hands in horror and gave up the ghost, thereby forcing us blogless wonders into a moment of decision. I opted for starting my own blog, and I’m so very glad I did!

Now, according to the grand tradition of blogging, I am having a Blogiversary competition, and I will be giving away something lovely, but I will not be using the random number generator. If you want to dip into my stash, you are gonna have to work for it, chickens!

I want to see your LYS (edited for Cathy’s benefit: that would be Local Yarn Shop). Starting from the moment I hit “Publish” on this post, you guys have two (2) weeks to come up with a sock pic including your LYS and post it on your own blog. When you have done so, leave a comment on this post, making sure you include your blog’s URL for me so I can see your pic. Bonus points for anyone who gets a staff member to hold the sock. Silliness is encouraged. On 19th May I will judge the pics and decide who wins the sock yarn.

I will post a pic of my own lovely little LYS over over the next few days, so drop back in and take a look later this week.

8 Responses to “Happy Blogiversary to me!”

  1. cathy May 5, 2008 at 5:04 pm #

    Im having a dumb moment here! Whats a LYS?
    And yes Ill post about a sock ,LOL I have that many going……

  2. cathy May 5, 2008 at 5:07 pm #

    GiGGle GiGGle, I got it,told you I was havin a dumb day……..it could be that $1100 bill I just got, to pay an electrician…..by friday…..

  3. becky c. May 5, 2008 at 9:20 pm #

    This is great contest idea, but encouraging Karen to be silly is ill-advised. Can’t put that genie back in the bottle! (Love ya, Mayhem!!)

  4. Lynne May 5, 2008 at 9:23 pm #

    Happy blogiversary!

  5. Kate May 5, 2008 at 9:31 pm #

    I love your competition idea – and a little bad voice in the back of my head is working out how to con the saleslady of questionable temperament into allowing some silliness – coz it’s no fun trying it on with someone who needs no persuading!!!

  6. bells May 5, 2008 at 10:20 pm #

    FAB contest idea. I’m in. Great fun!

  7. amy May 5, 2008 at 10:21 pm #

    Happy Blogiversary! It occurred to me the other day that Webs had become my LYS, because that’s the only place I’ve bought yarn in person since December. But I won’t be visiting in the next two weeks, nor am I knitting socks at the moment. However, I can’t wait to see all the pictures! It sounds like a great idea for a contest!!

  8. cathy May 7, 2008 at 6:58 pm #

    Oh Heavens now I do feel a goose,LOL, oh and Happy Blogversary!!!!

Leave a Reply

