Surprise!

10 May

Last night, after a full day at work and a trip into Orange to get a thing done to my new car, I got home at about 6pm and noticed a couple of boxes on my doorstep. Tech Support arrived right on my tail, so I pointed them out to him while I wrangled children. He had been expecting a couple of parcels anyway, so I thought nothing more of it until five minutes later when he brought in a box addressed to me.

Look what was inside:

The very cheeky Amy sent me some goodies from her visit with the Harlot at Webs. Yes, that is the Harlot’s newest book, and lookit –

It’s signed.

There is also a fabulous canvas tote-bag from Webs, and a teeny little key-chain shaped like a ball of yarn with two needles stuck through it, which is particularly handy, as I have a new car, and thus new keys!

Also, a little Harlot tour button (which has already been installed on my winter coat), and one of Jejune’s gorgeous knitting-art cards (Hot Chocolate with Winter Hat). How lucky am I?

Amy, you rock! Thank you over and over again – it was such a nice surprise! Oh – you asked where Blayney is, because you couldn’t find it on a map. I’d be surprised if you could, as Blayney is a small country town with a population of less than 8000. We are approximately 240 km (150 miles) west of Sydney, in the Central West of NSW. You can find us on Google Earth if you are really eager.

Finally, I promised a pic of my LYS. Here ’tis – Caboodle Gifts and Yarn in Orange (website pending):

It’s little, and narrow, but a lovely shop nonetheless. I popped in there this morning when I was politely asked to vacate the house so that all my menfolk could do Something Secret, which I can only assume involved wrapping paper, sticky tape and giggling. The shop was full to bursting with people buying last-minute Mother’s Day gifts, so I contented myself with a shot of the outside. It would probably have been a bit much to ask the two extremely harried staff to hold a sock and be photographed for some inexplicable and arcane purpose, especially when they had already gone beyond the call of duty finding me a copy of this pattern (Ravelry link). They were so extremely helpful that I ordered this one too.

6 Responses to “Surprise!”

  1. bells May 10, 2008 at 10:57 pm #

    oh isn’t Amy fabulous!!!

  2. amy May 11, 2008 at 12:11 am #

    I’m so glad it arrived safely and was a lovely surprise! Those are the best sorts of packages to send!! 🙂

    (I’m on the library computer, so no telling if this will go through…)

  3. becky c. May 11, 2008 at 8:10 am #

    What a great surprise! Who will you make the shawl for?

  4. tinkingbell May 12, 2008 at 10:20 am #

    Lucky duck – how gorgeous to get parcels unannounced!

    Love the LYS – mine’s nice, but doesn’t have much unusual stuff!

  5. Kate May 12, 2008 at 9:33 pm #

    Oh lookit your lovely lovely s’prise!! How gorgeous!!!
    pity ’bout the ‘puter going all sad – hope it plays nice soon!

  6. Taphophile May 14, 2008 at 6:35 am #

    What nice swag you have. 🙂

Leave a Reply

