FO!

22 Jun

Salto socks…………. Finished! Yeehaw! (Hey, Becky? You remember sometime back in the Jurassic we had a knitalong for these?) Apologies for the dark and dingy pic, but it is winter here after all, and we have had miserable cold, rainy, overcast weather for the last week. This was the best I could manage, and it was taken under a northeast-facing window at 9.30am.

I loved these socks, but oh my everlovin’ Gawd did life ever get in the way here!

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern:
Salto by Rebekkah Kerner for Knitty Spring 2008
Yarn: Araucania Ranco Multy in a pinky-purply colourway (sorry, lost the ballband).
Needles: 2.75mm Knitpicks nickel-plated fixed circular
Modifications: I had to go up a needle-size to fit my MIL’s shortish, wide-ish foot. On a whim, I continued the 2×2 ribs from the instep right down into the toe-decreases, and I love the result! Otherwise, I followed the pattern exactly.

This is a gorgeous pattern and I love it to bits, and the yarn was a pure joy to work with (I loved it so much that I bought a second skein for socks for me). I’m confident that my MIL will be thrilled with them. There were some…. interesting moments along the way, such as when I had to rip back after almost completing the first sock, because it was too small, and almost running out of yarn. How close was it? Look:

That teenie-weenie skeinie there is 11 metres of yarn, 7 left over from sock #1, 4 (four!) from sock #2.

Now I’m happily plugging away at the brown Jo Sharp (Rav link). I have one-and-a-half sleeves, and a little bit of bodice-shaping done so far, and I’ve tried it on (all hail the top-down raglan!) and it fits. Still, if you don’t mind, I’ll just keep holding my breath until it’s finished and blocked. I’ve been here so many times with this yarn, and it’s always gone wrong.

Mandie, look away. You don’t want to see the next bit.

25 days until Bendigo. Hee hee!

4 Responses to “FO!”

  1. Mandie June 22, 2008 at 2:21 pm #

    Your MIL is going to be stoked with her socks – they’re divine!
    It’s ok…I can cope with Bendy being 25 days off…..I think 🙂
    Can’t wait to see you xoxo

  2. tinkingbell June 22, 2008 at 3:19 pm #

    How pretty are those socks!!!! Gorgeous – I have Salto on the never ending queue – and the everyday tweed – but there’s about 70 other things between now and them!

  3. Kate June 22, 2008 at 7:52 pm #

    Weehee!!! Loving those socks! Must sing ‘not jealous’ mantra as I go to wash out my newly dyed skeins….
    :>

  4. becky c. June 22, 2008 at 11:36 pm #

    Those were worth the wait!! She will be so happy with them. I think I am too selfish to give mine away. 🙂

Leave a Reply

