Big Week.

28 Jun

This week has been huge for us. Boyo’s school report came home on Monday, followed on Tuesday by school photos.

This is my Boyo to a tee – the beanie-hair, the glasses slightly skewiff, the faintly grubby face (despite the fact that I polished him ’til he shone that morning!).

Thursday, almost lost in the hubbub of life and work and school and kids, was Tech Support’s birthday. He would have been fine with that, as he’s always maintained that he doesn’t care how old he is, but this birthday was a biggie – my ‘Old Man’ is 40. When I asked what TS wanted for his birthday dinner, Sasquatch looked at me like I was crazy and said “Mum, it’s Daddy’s birthday. He wants fairy bread, of course!” So, because I married a big old softie, we had fairy bread and party sausage rolls and cocktail frankfurts for dinner on Thursday night.

Yesterday was the Athletics Carnival, Take Two. After one of those nights where you know you have to get up early, so you wake up every half-hour to see if it’s time to get up yet, the morning dawned clear, cold and frosty. We were a little disorganised, but it didn’t rain, all the kids got their lunches, and my head didn’t explode even once, so I’m calling the day a success. We also took about four times as much money as a normal Friday. I was half afraid to take my shoes off last night, for fear I’d run my feet right off the end of my legs (as you can imagine, this would be an unmitigated disaster for a sock-knitter), but it was all good – they were still there, if a bit the worse for wear.

Today included our usual Saturday observances (sitting around in our PJ’s eating cereal and watching cartoons until 10 o’clock), followed by a shopping trip into Bathurst to pick up TS’s birthday present. Tonight I made a more grown-up birthday dinner of chicken breasts stuffed with peppered brie and cashews. Right after we played Wii Sports and Zelda on the new Nintendo Wii. Yep, proper grown-ups, us.

And yes, that is my innocent little Sasquatch shouting “Take that!” as he knocks a guy out in the boxing game on Wii Sports. I keep trying to warn them at school, but they think they’ve seen it all.

There hasn’t been a whole lot of knitting lately, but I do aim to please:

This pretty bit of business is Rainbow Wools’ ‘Raindrops’ yarn in the ‘Mulberry’ colourway (which Carol the Dyer tells me is actually more of an aubergine colour than we are seeing in this pic), and I bought me four whole skeins t’other day. They will hopefully get here around Tuesday. Then I get to start knitting and see if the yarn wants what I want (which would be the Landscape Shawl).

Days left until the end of term: 6

Days until I leave for Mandie’s: 16

Days until Bendigo S & W: 19

6 Responses to “Big Week.”

  1. Mandie June 28, 2008 at 10:47 pm #

    I cannot promise that the new bathroom will be finished, but at least it’s useable!
    There’s less stressing going on here….I think. Happy Birthday to TS 🙂

  2. amy June 28, 2008 at 10:54 pm #

    You’ve been busy! Good luck with the home stretch until break, and glad your feet were spared. 🙂

  3. joyknits June 28, 2008 at 11:05 pm #

    Busy week! Happy birthday to TS, and I love the Boyo’s photo. Hope there will be pictures from Bendigo.

  4. Kate June 29, 2008 at 8:31 am #

    Hey, Happy Birthday TS – same day as my Miss 2!!! Cute pics, nice wool, not looking at the evidence of trip to Bendy ‘coz it would make me jealous and green is not my colour! :>

  5. becky c. June 29, 2008 at 9:32 am #

    That will make a knock-out shawl!! What is fairy bread??

  6. tinkingbell June 29, 2008 at 9:46 am #

    What a great week! (and thank you so much for my pressie – I tried – but email having hissie fits!)

    Have fun on the Wii!!!! Wheeeee! and a Happy Birthday to TS!

    Love the yarn – lucky you – give my love to Mandie! And Bendigo!

Leave a Reply

