Booster Shots and Battle Scars

9 Jul

Yesterday, I had to take Sasquatch to get his pre-school boosters. Because I don’t believe in springing these things on kids, I had a talk with him about it before we went, explaining that he had to have the shots to help his body fight off very bad sickness (they have been talking about Good Germs and Bad Germs at his preschool, which made the discussion easier), and so that he could go to Big School next year. He wasn’t thrilled about it, but he agreed that he would be a brave guy.

Brave? Understatement of the year! He fought like a tiger, he screamed with ear-bleeding pitch and volume, it took three adults to hold him down, and he still managed to make the nurse stab her own finger. Afterwards, he accepted the lolly-pop the nurse gave him, but refused to even look at her, except to growl occasionally “That really, really hurt, you know”. He spent the rest of the afternoon glued to me on the couch, watching DVDs and occasionally bestirring himself to point out to me how sore he was.

But it’s done, and he doesn’t have to have another until he is ten. The next round will be for Boyo in a couple of years.

Which reminds me, I’m overdue for a tetanus shot myself. Not to mention a certain every-other-year appointment… If only my lovely lady GP hadn’t moved away.

7 Responses to “Booster Shots and Battle Scars”

  1. tinkingbell July 9, 2008 at 12:20 pm #

    Mine currently require anti-biotic drops given by mouth in a syringe – nearly 4 boy – no problem pass the jelly beans – nearly 6 daughter requires backing into a corner, 2 people nose held and she still screams and tries tothrow up – but takes the jelly beans afterwards – oh and we have to do this 3 times a day! Arrrrgh!!!

  2. Mandie July 9, 2008 at 1:29 pm #

    Oh you poor honeys 😦 I was going to tell you all about Miss G’s pre-school booster performance, but I think I’ll save it and show you when you get here. It was good, I’ll say that much. Needless to say I am not looking forward to T having his.
    You could always have your every other year girly appointment with my Doc, Greg. Greg is a Dairy Farmer who happens to be a Doctor…I’m sure it’s meant to be the other way around….? LOL
    Anyways…last smear test I had…Greg used his big yellow Dolphin torch for lighting cos his fancy schmancy lamp for such things had crapped itself.
    It was certainly an experience I’ll never forget ;-/

  3. becky c. July 9, 2008 at 10:56 pm #

    Sounds like just another day at the office to me! 🙂

  4. amy July 10, 2008 at 3:35 am #

    Yep, last booster I had to hold Vaughan down. One of those visits that make me wonder, Why am I always the one holding the kids down for this stuff? Lead tests, booster shots. I swear the dads get off easy in that department. I’m dreading Nicholas’s next year.

  5. Donyale July 10, 2008 at 11:26 am #

    At least he had them done! Couldn’t get Kaela to open her mouth wide enough at the Dentist this week to get a needle for an EXTRACTION! (I wouldn’t open my mouth either)

  6. Lynne July 11, 2008 at 10:57 pm #

    Oooo! I remember those days – reminding myself that you have to be cruel to be kind, blah, blah, blah….

  7. Kate July 12, 2008 at 9:11 am #

    thankfully my kids were not brave as very enraged tigers. And my every other year appt gets done in Dec – I’d rather do it for Xmas than for my bday.
    And I’ve never had it done by Dolphin torch!!!

Leave a Reply

