Not dead, just busy, busy, busy.

28 Aug

I am still here, I’ve just been ridiculously busy now that I’m a “lady of leisure” again [insert sardonic laughter here]. Excavating the house from under the mountain of crap that has accumulated while I was doing the working mum thing. It almost looks like it’s fit for human habitation again.

There’s also been some fun stuff happening – I’ve been baking like mad, and knitting in between housework-y tasks.

Anyhoo, here’s a meme to distract you from the fact that there are still no FO pics of the brown Jo Sharp jumper or the Cardigan socks, or for that matter WIP pics of the three pairs of socks-in-progress. Sigh.

1. What I was doing 10 years ago:

Let me think… 1998… We had just moved to Bomaderry, Tech Support was starting a new job (incidentally, his first in I.T. – before that, he was a sales rep for a liquor company). I was getting my resume in order to start looking for a job, and we were starting to discuss the having of a baby.

2. What 5 things are on on my to-do list for today (in no particular order):

  • Drop kids at school/preschool
  • Take car in for scheduled service
  • Go to movies to kill the time while car is serviced
  • Drop in to LYS
  • Shop for groceries

3. Snacks I enjoy:

  • Chocolate. The darker the better.
  • Anything with sesame seeds in, on or near it
  • Nuts and seeds – there is a better than even chance that I was a chipmunk in a past life.
  • Freshly baked bread. Freshly baked anything is pretty damn good, but fresh bread is toe-curlingly wonderful, especially with real butter and honey.

4. Things I would do if I were a billionaire:

The dream house on the dream property, with a little spinners flock (sheep and alpacas) and a veggie patch, but most categorically NOT a cow, ‘cos if you have a cow, you have to milk the bloody thing. Every. Damn. Day. ETA: Twice-a-day, even (thanks, Joy!).

Take care of the family, etc. Make sure we never have to worry about the bills again.

I also like Mandie’s idea of the Rhinebeck trip. Very noice.

Oh, and the Betterment of Mankind or some junk, but the only real betterment I can think of right now would involve lining all the world’s politicians up against a wall…..

5. Places I have lived.

  • Bowral NSW
  • Barrack Heights NSW
  • Eagle Vale NSW
  • Kiama NSW
  • Blayney NSW

I’m not tagging anybody, but if you want to play let me know in the comments.

The boys and I will be running away to Bowral for the weekend to celebrate my littlest nephew’s first birthday. My brother and his wife have completely ignored the family curse and planned an outdoor extravaganza at the park, so expect a downpour.

3 Responses to “Not dead, just busy, busy, busy.”

  1. tinkingbell August 28, 2008 at 6:28 pm #

    MM – I Like the politicians one! Backs to the wall, last fag…..

    And Rhinebeck – and SOAR and Spring Fling!

    Welcome back chickie! – Dust off the clutter and settle back…

  2. joyknits August 29, 2008 at 4:50 am #

    I like the one about the politicians too, and last I knew, you had to milk a cow TWICE.Every.D*D.Day 😉

  3. Kate August 31, 2008 at 7:50 am #

    Just so long as we know you’re still there somewhere :>
    Ta for the meme – I may try it….

Leave a Reply

