New Knitty Rhymes With Oooh Pretty!

13 Sep

No, I still don’t have email. Don’t even ask. Feel free to comment, but I can’t reply until it’s all sorted (and I dig myself out from under the Everest of spam that will be waiting for me).

Anyhoo, on to fun stuff. New Knitty! Best one of the year, too, if you ask me – the autumnal issue of any knit-zine is always a doozy.

I locked straight on to Camden, though I would do eyelets or tiny sparkly beads in place of the bobbles (I don’t do bobbles. I think they’re weird, lumpy, and have strange nipple-homing powers). But, dude, would I ever have to log some hours at the gym before I could even think about wearing that puppy! And I’d still have to ask some serious questions of the ‘mutton dressed up as lamb’ variety – could even a trim-taut-and-terrific (which I demonstrably am not) 39 year-old mother of two get away with something so cute and perky?

Twist and Shout… maybe, though I’m a little shy of the collar (and what is the deal with the hat?).

Hermia, hell, YES! Although I think it would benefit from a little bit of waist-shaping.

Kinetic. Norah. Gaughan. ‘Nuff said.

And of course there are socks: love them all (yep, even the Fair Isle ones – one of these days I’ll totally scrape up the courage).

There are some nice manly patterns, too. I really like the Mangyle… I might have to lay some groundwork with Tech Support – he would love one for next winter, he just doesn’t know it yet.

Plus, fortuitously, I happened to pick up a couple of skeins of cashmere laceweight at Bendy, in a palest-of-all-pale-greens colourway called Alfalfa. And here we have a laceweight scarf (with beads, even!) called Waves of Grain. Coincidence? I think not.

4 Responses to “New Knitty Rhymes With Oooh Pretty!”

  1. amy September 13, 2008 at 9:26 pm #

    I totally could have done Camden before I got pregnant, and I could some day after, too. (I’m hoping the third time doesn’t break my streak of losing baby weight in record time.) But I wish she’d included an alternate chart so I didn’t have to substitute the suggested cables myself. But I suspect my brain power will also return some day…

    Hermia, however, would make me look like I was wearing a sack. I think the baby version is very cute, but I’m not so sure it translates well for adults. You’re right; it’s a bit shapeless.

    Good luck with the email!!

  2. Kate September 14, 2008 at 8:59 am #

    Me three – Hermia is just not funky enough for us hot knitting babes ::wink, wink, pose::
    And nice idea for eyelets or beads – hmm, possibilities!

  3. tinkingbell September 14, 2008 at 10:47 am #

    MM – I’m with you on the whole fall thing – knitty, IW, VK and I just got Rowan 44 – and I love Twist and Shout and waves of grain – and the SOCKS! – oh my! I need another 4 or 5 hours in each day and not to sleep – just to keep up with the whole knitting thing – and I’m still not sure about Camden – kniit it with or without sleeves – don’t faff about – you just look indecisive – but I know bobbles hate me – if I put a bobble on my elbow it would still end up sitting on a nipple!

  4. Kate September 16, 2008 at 7:42 pm #

    Hiya, replying to your comment here ‘coz of the whole no-email thing! Yay you with only 6 WIPs! such fortitude! I’m hoping my holiday efforts will result in two pairs of finished socks, and maybe also a cardi for me, and serious progress on other items. Now you must flash pictures of the non-Top Secret items, because the large holes in my memory have sucked out any recollection of what you are knitting (and going through your archives would interfere with watching Firefly tonight)!!!
    :>

Leave a Reply

