Non-Stealth WIPs

21 Sep

In honour of Kate and her “SProStaR”, I give you my current Works In Progress:

1. Mojo for the Boyo: These are my glove-box project, for adding an extra round or two when I’m sitting in the car waiting for the kids, or if I find myself out without a Sock-in-Progress in my bag (has been known to happen if I run out the door really quick and forget to snatch the SiP up off the coffee table). Donni’s pattern (Rav link) is perfect for my Boyo’s long skinny foot.

2. Mulberry Scarf: I started this on the bus on the way to Mandie’s in July. Not sure if I love it or not.

3. Call Me Crazy Mitts: Already detailed in the last post, but currently in-progress, so I’m including them here in the spirit of honesty and all that guff.

4. Zoomy Garter Rug: Basic bias-knit garter-stitch lap rug in super-bulky Panda Zoomy (Rav-link) on 10mm needles. Yarn lives up to it’s name – this thing is growing fast!

5. Mulberry Shawl: Being uncertain about whether or not I really love the scarf above, I decided to cast this on and see if I liked it better. I think I do, but I haven’t ripped the scarf because, ummm… I just haven’t?

Plus, there are a couple of hibernating projects which may or may not end up in the frog pond.

a. Weird pastelly shawl: I started this one ages ago. It’s made of recycled 12-ply something or other from a horrible, baggy, boxy, late-80’s/early 90’s Cosby-esque jumper. At the time, the only circular I owned was a 4mm 80cm job, so it is really thick and very tightly knit; for actual wearability, the shawl should really be frogged. The question is, do I still want it to be a shawl, or do I want it to be something else? I think the answer lies in how well the yarn takes dye… Stay tuned.

b. Apple-green baby dress: (the colour is actually much prettier than this – a really fresh Granny Smith green) This one was made for my sister’s baby nearly two years ago. Said baby turned out to be a boy, so the pieces of the dress have been languishing in the back of my stash-cupboard ever since. Again, this really needs to be ripped (I have been on a very steep learning curve in the last couple of years, and there are enough mistakes in this that I couldn’t live with myself if I gifted it as is), but do I make another dress, or do I make something totally different?

There are also two pairs of stealth socks in the works, but that is everything currently on my needles, on my honour as a knitter. I’ve blown my Four-WIP-Maximum New Year’s Resolution, but only by a little.

4 Responses to “Non-Stealth WIPs”

  1. amy September 22, 2008 at 12:19 pm #

    Dizzy. I start to get dizzy with too many WIPs. I think I have two right now, but I’ve slowed down quite a bit lately.

    Still loving those Evangelines!!

  2. Kate September 22, 2008 at 8:08 pm #

    Awesome! Thank you for playing – I’m interested to see how the Mojo socks turn out – I want to know if they are comfy on or kind of smooshy. Mulberry – pretty. Garter rug – very zoomy! Pastel shawl – cushion cover? Felt for shopping bag? And Evangelines, as I said before – mwa ha haa!

  3. Lynne September 23, 2008 at 5:08 pm #

    Hmm! Maybe it’s time I took photos of my WIPs instead of leaving all that info in my progress bars! Although crocheted granny squares are not that exciting!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A New Sock, a Finished Object & a Dip in the Frog-Pond « Kiss My Frog - October 4, 2008

    […] Kiss My Frog Knitting, reading, avoiding the ironing. « Not Shy A New Sock, a Finished Object & a Dip in the Frog-Pond October 4, 2008 As you may already know, it’s time once again for Southern Summer of Socks. This has forced me to cast on for a brand-new pair (can’t let the start of a new knitalong go by with no more notice than the second sock of a pair, and a stealth-project at that!), which has in turn caused me to re-prioritize my WIPs as listed in this post. […]

Leave a Reply

