Paying it forward, part 1.

27 Sep

You may or may not recall, but way back in January I joined in the Pay it Forward swap thingy. Anyway, I promised to send something handmade  to the first three people who put their hands up in the comments, and the very first person to do so was Amy. Some months later Amy announced that she was cooking up a tiny person of the pink and frilly variety, so the answer was quite obvious: baby things were the order of the day. Well, the parcel has arrived at Amy’s end, so I can now show you some of the stealth projects I’ve been working on lately.

And now for the official FO details:

1. Micro-monkeys

  • Pattern: The ubiquitous Monkey by Cookie A
  • Yarn: Zwerger Garn Opal Handpaint, colourway Haggebutte (Rosehip)
  • Needles: 2.25mm Knitpicks Classic Fixed Circular (Magic Loop)
  • Modifications: I cut down the stitch count from 64 to 32, so there is a single pattern repeat across the front and one across the back. 

 

Pumpkinhead Beret

  • Pattern: I made it up! (except for the leaf, which comes from this pattern)
  • Yarn: Heirloom Easy-care 12ply for the hat, Cleckheaton Country Naturals for the leaf
  • Needles: 5.5mm Knitpicks Harmony interchangeable circular for the hat, 3.5mm dpns for the leaf

 

 

 

Bump Wrapper Kimono

  • Pattern: Cache Coeur for Baby by Patricia Arrotin (Rav link)
  • Yarn: Sheepychic Hand-dyed 12-ply in pink, green & white; purchased at Bendigo S&W.
  • Needles: 5mm Addi Turbo circular
  • Mods: The original pattern calls for handspun in a 3-ply, or light fingering weight on 3mm needles, but I wanted to use the 12ply, so there were numbers to be crunched (see how much I love you Amy? I did maths for you!), but the shape is so simple that even my dodgy-at-best arithmetic was up to the task. Otherwise, the pattern is so cleverly constructed, and the yarn so pretty, that I just let them both do their respective things, and it all came out beautifully. I chose this pattern because of all the baby patterns I looked at, it looked the most like a hug. There’s more pics of this on my Ravelry page here.
4 Responses to “Paying it forward, part 1.”

  1. becky c. September 28, 2008 at 1:29 am #

    Love that beret! Try hard to get us a picture of it on the baby some day. I am working on a secret project myself, so I have very little I can blog about.

  2. amy September 28, 2008 at 4:52 am #

    I will definitely get a picture of the baby in her beret. Lucky baby, lucky me. 🙂

  3. Kate September 28, 2008 at 8:14 am #

    That is some nice package you have there!! How very cute are those mini-monkeys!!! And when Rav plays nice I’m dashing straight over for a look at your Cache Coeur (Heart Hold?) project pics! so sweet!!

  4. tinkingbell September 28, 2008 at 10:11 am #

    So gorgeous

    And this reminds me of the PiF Obligation which I also have!

    Must get busier!

Leave a Reply

