Flip-Flop; or My Children Have a Bright Future in Politics.

30 Sep

Last night, Tech Support called to say he was going to be home late. I decided to wait and eat with him, which meant I had to come up with something quick and easy for the boys. So I said, “Hey, guys, how would you like pancakes for dinner?”, and was instantly voted the Best Mother in the World, because I was making pancakes.

That lasted until I pulled out the frypan and a mixing bowl and started actually making the pancakes, whereupon I was instantly denounced as the Worst Mother on the Planet, because I was making pancakes!

You see, they thought I was going to put them in the car, drive them to the supermarket and pay $4.15 for a packet of six mass-produced pancakes (or maybe drive them to McDonalds in the Delorean – ooh, check this out! You can rent one!). Yep, that’s gonna happen. Right after Beelzebub buys himself a snowplough.

Of course, my rating on the Evil-o-meter only cranked itself up after I told them that this was their dinner, dammit, and they would eat it or go to bed hungry. In the end, they ate it, and grudgingly admitted that they were pretty good, but I was still mean for not wasting petrol and cash.

It will be interesting to see what happens today, as I suggested to Sasquatch that perhaps he would like to take a couple of pancakes to Preschool for lunch, and he thought it was a great idea. But that was during the brief shining moment that I was the Best Mother in the World.

4 Responses to “Flip-Flop; or My Children Have a Bright Future in Politics.”

  1. amy September 30, 2008 at 8:04 am #

    My kids have yet to learn that pancakes can be bought in the market. Or waffles. Or that food can potentially come through windows while in the car (as far as they know, only coffee and occasionally french fries appear this way, the latter only during truly desperate certain times of the month).

  2. Lynne September 30, 2008 at 8:11 am #

    Ah, home-made pancakes; one day they will thank you for introducing them to such wonderful things.

  3. tinkingbell October 1, 2008 at 12:20 pm #

    Hah!!

    My children think I am the worst mother in the world all the time. I am mean. I make them eat fruit. And vegtetables. I am only the best mother if I make chocolate chip biscuits. Or penguin waffles.

  4. Kate October 1, 2008 at 8:34 pm #

    And isn’t it great to know that we all AGREE with you on the subject of buying pancakes???? And making things from scratch? And the importance of fruit, vegetables and water???
    (though I did have one 30-some friend whom I taught how to make pikelets so she could make them for her toddler – some folks have truly deprived tastebuds)

Leave a Reply

