A New Sock, a Finished Object & a Dip in the Frog-Pond

4 Oct

As you may already know, it’s time once again for Southern Summer of Socks. This has forced me to cast on for a brand-new pair (can’t let the start of a new knitalong go by with no more notice than the second sock of a pair, and a stealth-project at that!), which has in turn caused me to re-prioritize my WIPs as listed in this post.

First up, I finished the Evangeline mitts. Love ’em to bits, and am already resenting the hot weather (and it’s not even properly hot yet), because I can’t wear them. Grrr.

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern:
Evangeline by by Michelle Szeghalmi (free Ravelry download)
Yarn: Patons SWS in Natural Earth
Needles: 4.5mm Knitpicks Harmony interchangeable circular, Magic Looped.
Modifications: Didn’t like the thumb as written (it just stuck straight out to the side, and strangled my thumb a bit), so I ripped back and worked a proper thumb-gusset. Also added some extra length to the ribbing, which gives me the option of covering up my fingers in really nippy weather (I am destined for some serious arthritic fun and games down the track, as when my hands get cold, it aches right up to my shoulders) or folding it back for action.

It’s been a while since I gave you a good frogging pic, so here ya go.

I have been having so much fun with the Mulberry shawl that I bit the bullet and frogged the Mulberry scarf. I really wasn’t happy with it; the garter edging was making the stocking-stitch go all puffy and fat. It probably would have blocked out, but still, I just like the shawl better…

And the Zoomy blanket is in hibernation until I get to Big W to bail the rest of the yarn out of Lay-By, which brings me back down to four projects; the Mulberry Shawl, Boyo’s Mojos, the second stealth sock, and….

…that new sock I mentioned. For nearly a month now, one particular skein of the Jitterbug that I bought at Bendy has been singing a song to me, and the name of the song is Monkey. If you remember the Monkey Magic TV show, Monkey used to fly about on a pink cloud that looked oddly like fairy floss. Well, this particular pink yarn has been insisting that its proper name is “Cloud Flying Monkey”, and who am I to argue when it has clearly all been preordained by the Great Sage Equal of Heaven himself?

Seriously, I just can’t get enough of this pattern – I’m beginning to think there is no yarn that can’t be made gorgeous by Monkeyfication (if you don’t believe me, go take a look at the Ravelry gallery). It’s exactly the kind of pattern I like, too – easily memorised (read: permanently locked into my brain and fingers by now), a 13-row repeat, one of those “just one more repeat” patterns that seems to knit itself. Love, love love. 

Cookie A you are my hero!

2 Responses to “A New Sock, a Finished Object & a Dip in the Frog-Pond”

  1. becky c. October 4, 2008 at 10:35 pm #

    Those fingerless gloves are gorgeous! I haven’t made a pair so long before, I might have to try it.

  2. Kate October 5, 2008 at 2:12 pm #

    I loved Monkey Magic (once Mum started to let us watch it – that was a couple of years) – and then in Japan I discovered that Piggsy was this big tv actor celebrity, in a hit drama!!! He did supermarket ads!!!! Amazing…
    nice mitts, lovely wiggly yarn, zoomy zooming…all good.

Leave a Reply

