Random Noodlings

7 Oct
  1. I really should learn to keep my big mouth shut. On Saturday I posted about how I was already resenting the heat because I couldn’t wear my new Evangelines. Guess what? Big-arse cold front came through here last night, and I am wearing the mitts as I type this.
  2. I am also clasping a nice hot coffee-mug and eating fresh-baked orange-poppy-seed cake. My Sasquatch is all about the poppy-seeds just lately. A month ago he wouldn’t touch them with a barge pole, but the other day we were at the bakery, and he decided he liked the look of a vienna loaf with poppy-seeds on it, and then he not only ate the bread, but enjoyed the seeds. So this week it was his turn to choose the cake to be baked, and he decided that poppy-seeds were the order of the day.
  3. I grafted the toe of the first Cloud-Flying Monkey sock this morning, and cast on immediately for the second. I’m using a tubular cast-on (scroll down a bit), and was subjected to a lengthy interrogation from Boyo: “Is that knit or purl?” “Why are you using that orange yarn? (waste yarn) There isn’t any orange in the other sock!” “Can I look at your rainbow needles?” (those would be the Harmony set) “How do they join on to the purple string?” “Oh, yeah! I can see the screwy part in the other needles.” Etc, etc, etc. I love school holidays.
  4. It rained all (long) weekend here, which means I now have a mountain of washing to catch up on. I am trying to look at the big picture here – yes, I am horribly behind on the washing, but the dams have a bit more water in them than they did last week. It’s not making the job any more pleasant, but I’m trying my best.

Have a happy week, all!

2 Responses to “Random Noodlings”

  1. amy October 7, 2008 at 9:39 pm #

    Number 3 is my entire life, all day, every day. Everything I do is subject to interrogation. It gets exhausting.

  2. Lynne October 8, 2008 at 8:09 am #

    When I was a child, the standard answer to ‘why’ was “because I’m your parent and I told you so”. Last weekend I asked my father why something wasn’t being done [he’s 80, I’m 51] and he still rankled!! LOL

    Enjoy the questions; at least he’s interested in what you’re doing and asking questions is a sign of an inquiring mind.

Leave a Reply

