From the Comments

11 Oct

The other day, when I posted my almost-a-complete-sock, Amy said:

Oh, no. My kitchen scale took a lot of my sock yarn anxiety away. I won’t use it for food. It’s only for yarn.

Plus it helps I actually prefer shorter cuffs than most patterns call for–I like about 5″ cuffs rather than 7″. Of course, that preference may have developed to help prevent sock yarn anxiety. It’s hard to tell which came first. )

I too have a yarn/kitchen scale, which told me I had 56g of yarn left over after Sock #1, which weighed in at 55g. So I knew I’d be cutting it fine, but I thought I was okay. The even weirder part is that I knit the same numbers of rounds, and got the same gauge, but I used more yarn for the second sock. So either my scale (which has always been reliable) lied to me, or burglars broke into my house and stole 2 grams of sock yarn.

Gemma said:

What can I say? Use black (who sees toes anyhow?)

This is my plan. In fact, I was loading my boys into the car for a shopping trip to Orange this very morning, wih a view to purchasing some black patonyle from my LYS, when I discovered that I’d left the headlights on overnight, and the battery is dead. Bugger.

Also, for those of you who admired Boyo’s gummy grin, it is even gummier as of this morning, due to the loss of the tooth directly above tooth #1.

3 Responses to “From the Comments”

  1. Lynne October 11, 2008 at 1:56 pm #

    Bet he’s so proud [and rich!]

  2. becky c. October 12, 2008 at 3:40 am #

    Wow, it’s raining teeth at your house! Wait til you see how cute he is with his new teeth that his little face hasn’t grown into yet. 🙂

  3. Cathy October 13, 2008 at 6:33 pm #

    The tooth fairy is going broke here! Bad luck about the battery!!

Leave a Reply

