Moving Right Along*…

13 Oct

Well, it took me a little while, but in the interim between now and getting my hands on some black yarn (the wonderful Kate has come to the rescue, and if the postal gods are kind I should see a parcel in my letterbox by week’s end) I am moving on to the next sock. It took me a day or two of flailing around before I could settle down and choose (which is truly weird considering I am constitutionally incapable of project monogamy), because every time I went stash-diving to see what jumped out at me, instead I found myself fondling the almost-a-Monkey and muttering imprecatons at the perfidy of kitchen scales.

So… Do you remember the present I bought myself with my first pay? Well, I won’t say I bought an entire bag of sock yarn just for one colourway, but… well, of all the colours in the bag, I love this one the best, and I’ve known all along what pattern I wanted it to be: Firestarter. Unfortunately that whole working-for-a-living thing, while enhancing the yarn-budget nicely, really got in the way of actual knitting, so I hadn’t got as far as casting on until now.

So far, so good. I have a toe. I’ll start the cabling part in the morning when I can see fine detail – my eyes tend to fail me for the fine stuff when there’s artificial light.

 *Ever since I typed those words I’ve had this song going round and round in my head:

When I was a kid, we had the Muppet Movie soundtrack. On vinyl.

2 Responses to “Moving Right Along*…”

  1. becky c. October 14, 2008 at 12:18 am #

    My favorite is “Rainbow Connection.” Almost makes me cry. Hey, I was going to knit Firestarters at one point. I think they are still in my Ravelry queue. I will be following your progress with great interest.

  2. Lynne October 14, 2008 at 7:57 am #

    I can see why that yarn would be ‘Firestarters’. Glad to hear the almost-there Monkeys will soon be completed. My favourite Muppet song is also “Rainbow Connection.”

Leave a Reply

