I live in fear…

26 Oct

This morning I was in the kitchen toasting muffins for breakfast, and I heard Sasquatch playing in the lounge room. He was singing a little song (kid provides his own soundtrack), which went thusly:

“Avoiding, avoiding, avoid-void-voiding,”

After taking a moment to be impressed that he knew such a word at the ripe old age of five-and-a-half, I asked him “What are you avoiding?”

He waved a hand at the dust-motes floating in the bright morning sunlight, and explained: “These are asteroids*, and my spaceship has to avoid them.” Before I could reply, he turned to me and asked, “Do you know what asteroids are, mum?”

“They’re rocks that float in space,” I said.

“Yes,” he chimed in excitedly, “and if they’re small enought, they can shoot right through your ship like a bullet and break your rocket engines so your ship stops working and you’ll just float in space ’til you die!” Judging by his gleeful tone, this would be a cool fate.

I had to stop him at this point; “How do you know this sort of stuff?”

He shrugged nonchalantly. “I just know it,” – taps his forehead – “in my brain,” and he turned around and went back to navigating his ship through the asteroid belt.

That brain is a scary place. I pity the woman for whom he makes that half-pony, half-monkey monster some day.

*Just so you get the full effect, Sasquatch has a lisp and says ‘W’ instead of ‘R’, so the word he actually used was athtewoidth – oh, and the knowing of that word really wasn’t so surprising; we are full-fledged sci-fi dorks here at the House of Frog.

One Response to “I live in fear…”

  1. becky c. October 26, 2008 at 1:34 pm #

    Bonus points for Skullcrusher Mountain reference! I’m so proud.

Leave a Reply

