You be the Judge

10 Nov

The other morning I was woken up at four o’clock by an 8yo looking for a fight (he didn’t get one, he just got frogmarched back to bed and promised a grisly death if he woke his brother), and after lying there for an hour, I finally accepted that I wasn’t going to get back to sleep, so I got up. I knew I wanted to knit something, but the tie-dyed yarn for Dad’s socks wasn’t quite dry yet, and I wasn’t sufficiently compos mentis for the Gust scarf (which is now officially off the needles, thanks for asking), so I pulled out a yarn that has been giving me grief for several months and cast on.

A little back story is necessary here. In March when I bought the Big Bag O’ Sock Yarn, Sasquatch expressed his preference for the “gween wool”. There were several skeins in the bundle that have green in them, but this is the one he picked out for himself:

blog091108-013

Trust me, digital imagery cannot convey the true horror of this colourway. The green and yellow are almost Day-Glo bright, and the pink is the colour of Barbie-flesh. Seriously ugly. When wound into a ball, it only gets worse:

blog091108-012

So ever since he claimed the yarn, I have been trying to find a pattern that would work with this ghastly travesty of colour (and, no, he cannot be dissuaded: just this morning when I was outside taking these pics, he came wandering over to see what I was doing, and said “Oh! That’s my wool! Isn’t it pretty, mummy? I just love my wool!”). I’ve cast on several times. and ripped back each time, because I just can’t stand the god-awful thing.

So I dug out this pattern (Rav-link), having looked at several different incarnations and noted the almost magical way it works with varigated and self-striping yarns. I thought maybe this was The One, the pattern that could make this horrible, horrible colourway look almost decent:

blog091108-010blog091108-009

Nope.

So the question I have for you is this:

P.S. Once I realised that it was making things worse, I was getting ready to rip it yet again, when Sasquatch got up and wandered out to the living room. I think you already know where this is going. The only thing more fantastic than his Very Pretty Wool is his Very Pretty Wool in this Bumpy Swirly Sock pattern. I am officially doomed.

6 Responses to “You be the Judge”

  1. joyknits November 10, 2008 at 10:10 am #

    My condolences – at least he wants you to knit for him. Would sunglasses help? 😉

  2. Regenia November 10, 2008 at 12:36 pm #

    I’ve seen worse. The bubbly bits kind of look like Easter eggs. I’d have probably attempted (I’ve never done this, but hear its easy-peasy) to do a mosaic pattern with a nice solid navy as the contrast so that it looked fancy. But these indeed look like something that Willy Wonka (the Gene Wilder version) would have worn. Be happy he’s still a kid and has the taste of one. All of my family’s youngins are growing up too fast.

  3. becky c. November 11, 2008 at 5:43 am #

    When faced with fugly yarn of someone else’s choice, I suck it up and knit as fast as I can. Knitting him socks out of yarn you loathe just proves your love!

  4. Mandie November 11, 2008 at 6:25 am #

    Oh geez. You are truly a good Mum and then some. I like the idea of some navy…maybe that will ‘anchor’ it…and help…or something?

  5. Lynne November 11, 2008 at 6:29 pm #

    I think the pattern helps a great deal. And if he loves it, so be it? Hide them under his longest trousers if they offend you! LOL

  6. Kate November 15, 2008 at 2:25 pm #

    I am trying hard to overcome my baser instincts and *not* snigger, because I am dreadfully sure that should I dare to laugh at the afflictions cast upon my fellow knitter, one (or all three – if the snigger were loud enough) of my children would magically appear at my elbow, be smitten with adoration of the ugliest pattern they can possibly find anywhere, and use the most winsome, adorable and angelic expression they can create to beg me to make whatever it is…
    I feel for you. The only word that can help you is **chocolate**. (Wine would involve errors and redos – to be avoided at all costs)

Leave a Reply

