Finished Object Friday

28 Nov

The packing and unpacking continue apace, but I took a tiny break today to begin my campaign for the title of “That Crazy Broad at Number 35”, and took some F.O. pics of Dad’s Chrimbo Socks. Our new house and yard are much more photogenic than the old place, and there’s lots and lots of windows, which means lovely, lovely light (when it’s not snowing, or… well, I don’t think raining quite covers what we got today – monsoonal downpour or Biblical deluge are terms that come closer)! Anyway, here are the socks, pic taken about half an hour before the heavens opened.

house-0021The Vital Statistics:
Pattern:
Gentleman’s Half-Hose in Ringwood Pattern by Nancy Bush
Yarn: Patons Patonyle, hand-dyed by me
Needles: 2.5mm Knitpicks classic fixed circular
Modifications: Dutch heel instead of prescribed French heel (you can see the various different heel types here), and an extension of the heel-stitch underneath the foot for extra cushiness where Dad needs it most (he has foot problems including heel spurs).

house-003

Next on the needles are my FIL’s socks, which began life as An American in China, but after struggling to bend the pattern to my will, I finally realised that I hated them (nothing to do with the pattern – it calls for an 8ply yarn, and I was trying to be clever with two strands of 4ply held together), so they were frogged (stupidly before any photos were taken – this moving house thing is mucking up my blogger’s instincts). Now they are about 10cm into another pattern from Knitting Vintage Socks, ‘Gentleman’s Sock in Railway Stitch’ (Rav-link), and I am much happier with the result, as is evidenced by the fact that I have knit as much this afternoon as I had trudged through in four days with the other pattern. I’ll endeavour to get some pics over the next few days.

Enjoy your weekend, whatever your plans are.

6 Responses to “Finished Object Friday”

  1. AlisonH November 29, 2008 at 4:39 am #

    Beautiful socks; you’ve got a very lucky father.

  2. gemma November 29, 2008 at 5:30 am #

    Your knitting looks lovely, very even tension. Great present!

    Good luck with the new home.

  3. cathy November 29, 2008 at 8:22 am #

    Nice socks,wish it would poor here(again) I also stretched the cushioning around past the heel for my Dad too,thought he might enjoy the softer effect(hes in his 70s)
    Are you going to show off your new garden?Im just being a sticky beak,LOL DH finally mowed our back lawn,so neat and green but dont look at the junk in the corners,his mine where he was LVF shut down 2 weeks ago but I havent seen much evidence of him being at home when I finish work each day,LOL

  4. bells November 29, 2008 at 4:38 pm #

    Great socks! I’ll add those to my list of must do’s from that book. I like the idea of adding the extra cushioning too – very thoughtful!

  5. amy November 30, 2008 at 7:18 am #

    Hurrah! It’s that time of the year when you hang socks in trees and take pictures of them! I think that’s what you were doing when I first visited your blog. I’m all nostalgic now…

  6. Kate December 3, 2008 at 7:53 pm #

    Niiice – I like the idea of the under-heel padding, too.

Leave a Reply

