Growing

11 Jan
I’ve been out digging in the garden this afternoon. We have a little triangular plot in the middle of some brick paving just off the kitchen that is begging for a herb garden. Yesterday, I pulled all the weedy dead stuff out and gave it a preliminary dig-over before it started raining, and today I attacked it with the big garden fork, and dug a whole lot of compost in. It’s looking all rich and lush and lovely now, just right to start tucking some baby plants in. I forgot to take any before shots, but here’s what it looks like now, as the rain starts up again:
dscf0003
It seems it has been a herb-garden in the past; as I pulled out all the rubbish, I found a little patch of chives there in the back corner, a big tall spike of garlic in the centre of the patch (okay, I already new about that one – it’s taller than me!), and some scraggly-looking parsley. On the left of the picture there is some Hebe that I’ll shift into a pot, or over into one of the border beds.
We already have some green-ness happening in pots along the back verandah – cherry tomatoes in four different varieties (some red, some yellow, all green at present), as well as a single big fat yellow capsicum.
dscf0012
dscf0010
dscf0009
While I had the camera out, I figured I’d better make good on past promises and post some progress pics of my current WIPs:
dscf0006
almost finished purple tofutsies socks,
dscf0002
baby alpaca (oooooohhhh, sooooft!) Swallowtail Shawl, five repeats thereof. This had me so nervous, because I’ve never worked off a triangular chart before, but then I remembered my mantra: I am not afraid to frog. So I cast on and gave it a go, and it’s coming along nicely. It’s not quite automatic yet, but I’m relying on the chart less with each repeat. I’ll give it a lifeline shortly, just to be on the safe side.
4 Responses to “Growing”

  1. amy January 12, 2009 at 2:06 am #

    I love the shots of green growing things, especially as the view from my window is nothing but frosty. The shawl is pretty, too. It *almost* makes me want to knit one, except I never wear them and, you know, I barely have time to knit as it is at the moment. Perhaps someday I’ll make a triangular blankie. 🙂

  2. Lynne January 12, 2009 at 9:57 am #

    Yummy! home grown hewrbs and vegetables!

    Don’t neglect the lifeline – even if you never need it, you’ll be more comfortable knowing it’s there as those rows get longer and longer!

  3. becky c. January 13, 2009 at 12:24 am #

    Awww, alpaca! Love the color, too, that will be gorgey!

  4. Kate January 19, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    oooooo, shawl action, makes me want to cast on a new one – just don’t ask me what I’ve done on the Wollmeise since I got home…

Leave a Reply

