Where did the week go?

24 Jan

It’s been eight days since my last blog-post. How the hell did that happen? I’ve been a bit busy, but still this weekend snuck up on me.

What have I been doing? Let’s see…

  • There were two dozen Cinnamon Coffee Scrolls to apply directly to my arse eat. Tech Support helped, but it was still a Herculean task.
  • There were daily swimming lessons at the local pool, which is the only reason I’m not the size of a house – while the boys were having their lesson, I was swimming laps.
  • There has been horrible dry hot days and horrible humid hot days, during which I couldn’t do much more than lie on the floor and moan about how much I hate being hot (this house is double brick and thus much cooler than the old one, but still, there is a limit even to the insulating powers of double brick).
  • Yesterday there were haircuts for both boys, because school goes back next Wednesday (thank the Great Whatever that the NSW Teacher’s Federation came to their senses and decided not to strike the first two days of term, otherwise I would have had to go to Sydney and rip them a collective new one).
  • There has been a bit of knitting, mostly in the morning when it’s not too hot. I’m making a point of at least one Budding Lace repeat of the Swallowtail each day. I’ve got ten repeats so far, and it’s just a delight to work with the baby alpaca. The Tantric Puzzle top is also growing , but remarkably slowly for 8ply on 3.75mm needles. Pics soon.
  • This morning we went to Bathurst for the Back-to-School shopping (impressively, my agoraphobic husband didn’t go ballistic, even though there were about a zillion people in the mall, and every single one of them got in his way or bumped into him). Everything is now purchased except for Sasquatch’s polo shirts, which I pick up from the school clothing pool on Tuesday.
  • Tomorrow is the Great Labelling Extravaganza, wherein I get to stick name labels on each and every item of stuff we bought today, from backpacks on down to each individual pencil. Goody.
  • Monday is Australia Day, and thus there will be bacon and eggs for breakfast. I don’t know why, but for some reason I absolutely adore a big cooked breakfast on a long weekend. Can’t face a heavy meal any other morning, but on a public holiday, bacon and eggs are required eating.
  • Later that day (if it’s not too hot to even contemplate lighting the oven), the boys and I will be baking Damper. Gotta have the Damper and Cocky’s Joy on Australia Day. I’ll post pics for your edification and enjoyment.

Enjoy your weekend, whereever you are, and whatever you’re doing.

P.S. Right now, I’m listening to Queen on the iPod dock that T.S. and the boys got me for Christmas. Here, share the joy:

Feel free to crank it up and shout it out at the top of your lungs. I always do.

3 Responses to “Where did the week go?”

  1. Lynne January 24, 2009 at 10:08 pm #

    Today was DD’s kitchen tea/bridal shower [a small gathering of just nine women] then it was more junk food for ‘dinner’ then tennis and knitting and tennis and blogging and soon to be tennis and knitting! tomorrow is Monet at the Art Gallery of NSW and Monday it seems I have the day to myself! I’m enjoying the weekend as long as I don’t think about DD’s wedding [and her leaving home] next Saturday too much!

  2. amy January 25, 2009 at 12:49 am #

    One union/contract for the entire province? (Is that what you call ’em there?) That sounds so…reasonable. Rhode Island, which is the SMALLEST state, has something like 35 school districts, each with its own teacher contract (and everything else). God forbid anyone suggest economies of scale. Stupid, insane, inefficient.

  3. cathy January 25, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    You ve been busy! I can still get abit of knitting done in the cooler part of the day during my tea break at work. But I can safely say that I adore my aircon,I can spin and knit in reasonable comfort except on humid days. The shire is putting on big Breaky here with bacon etc so I dont have to cook that either. As for Unions, well our local rep refused to act as MC for the Year 10s Grad(nearly a black tie affair) because it was out of his work hours as a teacher. These kids looked up to him(well some of them,he was a tough old bird)and were hurt by his attitude,what sort of influence is that going to be on theirs later in their working life!
    Anyhow enjoy the day tommorrow and hope its cooler for you!!

Leave a Reply

