Swallowtail

11 Feb

Regenia was asking about my progress on the Swallowtail shawl. So here ’tis:

dscf0019

(No, that white line is not a mistake, it’s a lifeline). This is just pinned out quick and dirty so you can see the lace, but it measures 55cm along the short sides, and 78cm along the hypotenuse (and now I owe an apology to my high-school maths teacher. He was right – I did find a use for maths in my real life, and now I’ve even used the word ‘hypotenuse’ in everyday conversation. Who’d a’ thunk it?). I figure if I’m serious about the blocking, I should get a nice sizable shawl out of this. I still have oodles of the yarn left, too. There’s 9g left of the first ball, and another whole 50g ball.

There was a lengthy hiatus during the heat, when I just couldn’t bear the thought of knitting. The weather has cooled off a little in the last day or so, and I’ve managed to get to the end of the Budding Lace repeats. As soon as I can dig up the beads I have squirrelled away, I’ll get stuck in to the Lily of the Valley border (yes, I’m beading instead of nupping. Little silver-lined glass beads – I feel the need for some bling).

What’s that? You want to see a detail shot? I live to serve.

dscf00251

Purdy, innit? 😀

2 Responses to “Swallowtail”

  1. Lynne February 12, 2009 at 7:39 am #

    Sure is – very purdy!

  2. lifestartsnow February 22, 2009 at 6:25 am #

    see, i don’t knit. so i have no reason to say hypotenuse 😉

    franzi

Leave a Reply

