New look

23 Feb

So I shoud be at TAFE today, but I have one kid barking like a seal, and the other one… well, the words “snot fountain”, while perhaps overly graphic, are apt. So I am home unexpectedly, and they are parked on the couch watching endless TV and depleting the world’s orange juice supply. What better way to distract myself from the awfulness of children’s television (words cannot express how violently I hate the Teletubbies!) than to give the blog a bit of a make-over?

Our new little friend in the header is Nyctimystes dayiAKA Day’s Frog or Australian Lace-lid. Isn’t he a cutie, with those huge black eyes?

The Swallowtail shawl is coming along nicely – I finished the first repeat of the Lily-of-the-Valley border, and then I had a bit of a crisis of confidence about the beads. So yesterday afternoon I quickly threw together a little swatch, testing out a couple of different methods of placing the beads (apologies for the crappiness of the photos, but in order to get close enough for a good shot, I was blocking my own light. Thus the shadow in the centre pic. And as always, click to embiggen).

In the centre is the shawl as it is currently on the needles, with a single bead placed by the slide-it-up-and-knit-it-in method. On the left is the same pre-strung beads method, only with two beads placed on each nupp-stitch, which gives more bling, but smothers the yarn-overs. And on the right is the hook-it-through placement method, which I like best, because it really opens up the yarn-overs, but with this size bead it is simply way too fiddly to be doing 220 times, which is how many beads I will be placing, just on the Lily-of-the-Valley section. There will be more beads on the lace border, and on the scalloped edging, but I don’t know how many yet.

So, we continue with the shawl as it is. Unless you want a blow-by-blow report of my day at home with the Snot-Beast and his brother the Amazing Seal-boy (and trust me, you really don’t), I’ll be signing off.

Oh, one last thing – as well as the sniffles, Sasquatch also brought home a merit award on Friday. It reads: For Confident Speaking at All Times. Hee! That would be the understatement of the year! The trick with Sasquatch is to get him to stop speaking. To quote his teacher when she gave it to him at the assembly, “Every day you have something new and interesting to tell me, and I always love to hear it!” I laughed so hard!

Really going this time. ‘Bye!

5 Responses to “New look”

  1. Regenia February 23, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    Do the hook it on method. Not because it’s slow and fiddly and when you complain I could say that you should’ve done the nupps, but because it’s better. I plan to give in to your peer pressure in a bit (you must at least try nupps!) and make a beaded scarf for my mom’s thank-you-wedding-gift-thing (please tell me if these gifts are purely American nonsense). So I did a bit of research, including messaging the designer of the pattern I like to get her opinion and this is what I found: 1) the slide it in place method puts more friction on the yarn, both in process and in wearing. This can make the yarn look bad, or worse, cause the yarn to break. 2) By hooking the bead on, it is knitted into the right side of the garment instead of being free to slide between front and back. If your going for bling, you want to be sure it shows when you wear your beauty out and about. And 3) It looks awfully pretty compared to the others. The one disadvantage is that it is slow and fiddly, but that’s really more of an inconvenience than anything else.

    Hugs!

  2. Lynne February 23, 2009 at 6:31 pm #

    “You’re a better [wo]man than me, Gungadin!”

  3. Tinkingbell February 23, 2009 at 7:01 pm #

    Hugs all around

    Just wait till I put on waterproof clothing. I am in awe of anyone who knits with beads – which seem scary to me

    My children take wall of sound to ridiculous lengths too – except at school where they are apparently quiet. And nice.

    Unbelievable really – I wonder if they hypnotise them?

  4. amy February 24, 2009 at 3:31 am #

    I hope the boys feel better soon and you don’t catch it! I hear you on the kids TV. That’s why it’s only on here when they’re sick. And never did they ever get to watch Teletubbies!

    Sounds like Nicholas. Never ever stops talking. 🙂

  5. Kate February 28, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    Pretty lace.
    Cute frog.
    Wanna swap kids??
    :>

Leave a Reply

