Oooookay…

24 Feb

So, I’m reading the blogs, and looking at Bells’ entries in the Royal Canberra Show (best of luck, there, too, Bells!), and I clicked the link, and was having a prowl through the show schedule, and I said to myself, Self, I said, Go and have a look at the Bathurst Show schedule and see what you have to do to prep your shawl for entry. So I did exactly that. And the number one thing I have to do to enter my shawl in this year’s Royal Bathurst Show is build a time machine, because entries closed last Friday.

I really should read these things more carefully. Perhaps even before I go making public declarations of intent. Sigh.

There’s still the Blayney Show, of course, but after the last two years being the only entrant (or at least the only one not entering the “Prettiest Knitted Coathanger” section) (I kid you not) (yes, I too had always considered “Pretty Knitted Coathanger” to be an oxymoron), I think I’ll leave it until May and throw my hat in the ring for the Orange Show.

Unless their entries closed sometime last year.

E.T.A: Sasquatch is much better, and going back to school today. Boyo is still croupy/barky/feverish (and flatly refuses to take anything to help bring his fever down), and will stay home again today, which Sasquatch considers to be horribly unfair, as in “Why does he get to stay home?” He does not get to stay home, he is staying home only because I can’t in good conscience send him to school while he is still so sick. With a bit of luck and much gritting of teeth, I will not kill him before we see the paediatrician tomorrow afternoon.

4 Responses to “Oooookay…”

  1. amy February 24, 2009 at 6:57 am #

    The other night I was stuck in the bed nursing the baby and there was absolutely nothing good on TV. I caught about 15 minutes of some movie with a time machine, and I have to tell you, even if you could do it, I don’t know if it’s worth it for the show. It stopped the dude’s heart. It doesn’t look like a comfortable mode of travel.

    Seriously, though, I’m sorry about that. I can relate. I bet you’ve got the kids’ timelines and due dates and whatnot all under control. Our own stuff just slips right through the cracks, doesn’t it?

  2. Lynne February 24, 2009 at 7:22 pm #

    Ooo! Not good. But at least you’ll be ready for the Orange Show. And the Penrith Show is much later in the year! And what about Oberon?

  3. bells February 25, 2009 at 9:47 am #

    tee hee re the coathanger line. That was good for a chuckle.

    And thanks!

  4. Tinkingbell February 25, 2009 at 1:44 pm #

    Ha yes – I knew I was sick on the occasion I actually wondered about knitting a coathanger!

    Fight the good fight – there are occasional days when you will be glad you did not commit infanticide!

Leave a Reply

