Mad Cookie Skillz?

1 Mar

cowboy-cookies1

I haz them.

When I took this pic, they were still warm from the oven, and the chocolate was all melty and ooooooooh…..

Just so you know.

Recipe here.

On a completely unrelated note, I have to wonder if anybody else’s children are as suicidally pig-headed as mine. Today Sasquatch tried a liquorice allsort for the first time, and decided he didn’t like the taste of the liquorice part. So rather than quickly chew and swallow to get it over with, he held it in his mouth for over half an hour. In the end he threw himself down on the floor for a bit of a tantrum and started to choke on it, so I ran him outside and whacked him on the back ’til he coughed it up (he’s fine), but really, what is the thinking here? Both my boys do it. If you don’t like a flavour, and a cruel, vicious, evil harpy (that would be me) forbids you from spitting it out, would not the logical course be to swallow it and get it away from your tastebuds ASAP? Holding it in your mouth seems to me to be verging on masochism.

If someone can enlighten me, I’d be very grateful.

6 Responses to “Mad Cookie Skillz?”

  1. amy March 2, 2009 at 2:22 am #

    Dunno. I let them spit things out. 🙂

  2. Tinkingbell March 2, 2009 at 11:35 am #

    Children are weird – I let mine spit things out – but ONLY on the plate or into their hands!

    I made the Moosewood choc chip cookies yesterday which are fabulous and get made about once a month here – easy easy and this time I put white and dark choc bits – and little baking M&Ms!!!

    Oh Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm……

  3. kissmyfrog March 2, 2009 at 4:58 pm #

    Hmmm, I’d better clarify: the only reason I forbid them to spit things out is that if I didn’t, Boyo wouldn’t eat.
    Yesterday’s cookies are a case in point: he helped me make them, he saw that they were full of things he likes, and yet when it came time to eat them, he sat there and argued the point with me until I was ready to jam him headfirst in the bin.
    Every time we introduce a new food, I have to bully him into eating it, and it is a huge drama, but once he actually tries it, he always likes it. It’s bloody frustrating, but I have to persevere, or he woud eat nothing but Nutella sandwiches for the rest of his life.

  4. becky c. March 3, 2009 at 10:46 am #

    I have never seen a kid do that! Doesn’t make sense to me, but I really don’t remember how to reason like a 7 year old.

  5. Kate March 6, 2009 at 6:51 pm #

    I haz Cake Skillz – when I mentioned next week’d morning tea, there were requests bordering on begging for Beer Cake.
    Damn I’m good.
    :>

  6. Leonie March 20, 2009 at 11:06 am #

    I have been fighting with child number one for the last 5.5 years to get him to (a) eat and (b) try new things including (as in your case) things the child has actually helped prepare. For the whole of the year he was three he claimed “3 year olds don’t eat cheese” I tried arguing but eventually decided to beat him at his own game. My reply every time was “4 year olds do” it took a year but on his 4th birthday eve we were having bikkies and cheese prior to dinner and he said “can I have one I’m almoooost 4” and chewed and swallowed it down without complaint. The success was followed by getting him to eat fried rice (would only eat plain rice and separate piles of peas, corn, carrots, bacon, etc) and bolognaise (it has bits in it!) and to get him to feed himself by spending the next 12 months saying “five year olds eat EVERYTHING and they don’t need help!” all the while kicking myself that I hadn’t been saying that the previous year. He would also try things at grandma’s house that he wouldn’t look at at home, so I started having conversations about what was to be on the dinner menu at Grandma’s with Grandma and all of a sudden we could eat a full roast meal!!!! So you are definitely not the only one. Oh and a bowl of cereal…takes 90 mins to eat in my house. It is amazing how long they can hold food in their $%##@# mouths without chewing. Thankfully child no# 2 and 3 both eat EVERYTHING!!! Or I would be completely insane by now.

Leave a Reply

