Playing catch-up.

9 Mar

I haven’t done very much knitting in the last week or so, unless you count what I’ve done at TAFE. Yes, during class. The course I am taking is Certificate 2 in Information Technology (click the link for curriculum details). At least half the class (some days it feels like 80%) should not be in this course. They have no idea what they are doing, and by rights should be in Certificate 1, or even Crash Course: Intro to Computers. Unfortunately, those courses are not available at Orange this year, so here we all are, moving at snail’s pace. Thankfully, my teachers recognise that a few of us are bored to tears, and are okay with me knitting when they are stuck on the other side of the room, trying to explain the deep and arcane mysteries of plugging a flash-drive into a USB port. Sigh.

Um, what else? Boyo missed an entire week of school, including his birthday. My parents came to visit for a couple of days, which is always lovely, as they live more than 800kms away, and we only get to see them once or twice a year. As well as birthday pressies for Boyo (including a Rubiks Cube that had him in absolute paroxysms of delight. He had “wanted one his whole entire life” or at least since the previous Tuesday, when he saw one for the first time. He didn’t let go of it for two whole days – he even slept with it!), mum got me this:

mug Apparently, she felt that was an appropriate sentiment. They come from Spotlight, and in several different knitterly patterns. I think I might have to collect me the whole set, ’cause they are all so damned cute!

I’ve been baking some more, but the resulting goodies always evaporate before I can get the camera ready.

Yesterday, Sasquatch went to a fancy-dress birthday party. It was wall-to wall superheroes, with Sasquatch as Spiderman, as well as two Supermen, a Batman, a Power Ranger or two and a Ninja. There were also a few fairy princesses, one of whom was not yet two, and she was just delicious, all roly-poly, waddling about clad in acres of purple tulle. While the kidlets were saving the world in the indoor play area at Hungry Jack’s in Bathurst, I took the opportunity to do a little reconnoiter in Spotlight, coming away with some elastic for hand-me-down PJ repair, plus a sewing pattern and some fabric.

Tomorrow is another day of TAFE, followed by a Chef’s Toolbox party at a friend’s house.

Wednesday night is the P & C Annual General Meeting, when (hopefully) an entire new committee will take over, and shake things up a bit.

All things being equal, I’ll be going to see Watchmen on Thursday. Can’t wait – I’ve always been a big comic book dork, and this particular comic (my apologies, I should say graphic novel) is seminal in the dorkish canon. Plus, it’s got Jeffrey Dean Morgan in it, and that guy should be dipped in chocolate and served on a silver platter for my amusement…

… sigh.

Sorry, where was I? Oh yes. Blogging.

Hmm, I also have some sewing plans for this week. New yoga pants for me, among other things (see above, re: Spotlight haul).

As you can see, the thrill-ride of my life continues unabated. Tune in next time when I ramble on about nothing in particular… Oh wait, that was today.

Incidentally, I am now on Twitter, too. Because my life is so desperately exciting I must document it on an hourly basis. I’m KissMyFrog there, as everywhere.

4 Responses to “Playing catch-up.”

  1. becky c. March 10, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    Love that cup!! Have fun at the movies – he’s so cute. Sigh.

  2. Lynne March 10, 2009 at 10:42 pm #

    I love that mug! I was only in Spotlight on Sunday – now I’ll have to make another trip! Bother!!! LOL

  3. Kate March 11, 2009 at 5:27 am #

    I could wish my life were the same. Yesterday’s thrill – aside from Miss 6-on-Saturday carrying on for about 4 hours, 3 1/2 of which was done at volume from the bedroom door – was being called up to see my son at recess, because if there is a way to fall over on grass and yet faceplant on tarmac, he will find it. Yay for bulk-billing doctors who like to use steri-strips – stitches would have taken hours!!!

  4. Tinkingbell March 11, 2009 at 10:01 am #

    Want mugs!! Want want want!

    I never get to the doomlight of spot – they are an hour away in either direction – sigh.

    But we did solve the weekend’s techie question – so now my life is almost complete!

Leave a Reply

