Denied.

12 Mar

So today I was all set to go and see Watchmen. I had consulted the oracles (that would be the cinema websites), and decided that the early showing at 11.30am in Orange was my best bet. The movie runs 2 hours and 50 minutes, meaning a morning session was the only option if I was going to be back by 3pm for school pickup.

So I drop the boys off at school, come home and tidy up the breakfast things, and set off for Orange. I swing through the drive-thru at Red Rooster for a 6-pack of cheesy chicken nuggets (the ones with sesame seeds in the crumb) for my lunch, and then on to the cinema. At 11.20am I front the ticket counter, and ask for a ticket to Watchmen. “Sure thing,” says the kid at the counter, turning to his computer. “Umm… You do realise that movie isn’t until one o’clock, right?”

“No,” says I. “Your website says there’s an eleven-thirty screening.”

“Oh,” he replies carelessly, not realising (or caring) that I had made a special trip in all for the sake of big, hunky, chocolate-coated Jeffrey. “That’s not right. I’ll have the manager fix it. You can come back at one o’clock?”

“No, I can’t. I’ll have to come back on the weekend.”

“Oh, well, here.” He hands me a printed session list. I glance at it and notice that there was a 10am showing this morning. Sigh.

So I climb back in my car, run a couple of errands, and then halfway home, I rummage in my Red Rooster bag to munch on a cheesy nugget while I drive… Plain nuggets. Sans cheese. Also sadly lacking in the sesame seed department.

I know that in the grand scheme of things, this is not a great tragedy, but still.

Pout.

3 Responses to “Denied.”

  1. Lynne March 12, 2009 at 8:46 pm #

    You have every right to pout – for a while! “Not fair,” I say; but we parents are always telling our kids that life isn’t fair, aren’t we? ;-(

    Seriously,I’m sorry you were messed around by the powers-that-be; hope you enjoy it when you finally get to see it! And that the nuggets have cheese and sesame seeds!

  2. becky c. March 12, 2009 at 9:25 pm #

    Aw man!!!! I’d pout too!

  3. amy March 12, 2009 at 11:19 pm #

    I was once reduced to tears because the bagel I’d ordered had come with a type of cream cheese I hated instead of the cream cheese I’d ordered. Of course, I was not in a Good Spot right then and…well… never mind. TMI. My point being, I totally understand. Especially as moms, when we actually plan to treat ourselves (not that I was a mom yet with the bagel thing) but MY POINT WAS when we’re doing so much for everybody else and we plan a treat for ourselves and it all goes awry? No, it’s not fair.

Leave a Reply

