Not your average telemarketer.

14 Mar

Me: Hello?

Telemarketer [in a very familiar, ebullient tone that had me wondering if this was someone I was supposed to know]: Hullo! How are you?

Me: Um, fine thanks…

Telemarketer: I’m from Company Name, you know, the vinyl siding mob? And I’m doing a quick ring-around Blayney to see if anybody wants some.

Me [trying hard not to laugh]: Thanks, but our house is brick.

Telemarketer [shouts at someone in the office]: It’s a brick house, you bloody idiot! [back on the phone to me]: Oh, well, no harm trying. Thanks anyway. Have a good arvo, love. [hangs up]

Now, if all telemarketers were like that, I wouldn’t mind them calling. Well, not so much.

One Response to “Not your average telemarketer.”

  1. Lynne March 15, 2009 at 8:47 am #

    That cracked me up! I even had to call WM to come and read it!!

Leave a comment