This is me being Margaret Pomeranz

15 Mar

Well, I managed to get to the cinema this afternoon, and I saw Watchmen. It was good, but not great. I’m trying hard to avoid spoilers here, so I will simply say this: you know how M. Night Shyamalan has spent his entire career trying to live up to The Sixth Sense? Everything since has been more or less good (well, except for Unbreakable, that thing reeked), but just never as great as that first stroke of brilliance. Well, similarly, I have a feeling that Zack Snyder pretty much blew his wad on 300. The Sam Pekinpah levels of gore that seemed quite appropriate for Leonidas and the boys (after all, they really did need that stacked-corpse breastwork) seemed almost silly in a costumed hero context, and the sex scene was really over the top and way too long: I was giggling by halfway through. And there wasn’t nearly enough Jeffrey Dean Morgan, chocolate-coated or otherwise.

That said, Billy Crudup was extraordinary, if a little underdressed, and the guy who played Nixon was eerily good. Overall, I’m going to give it 7 out of 10.

One Response to “This is me being Margaret Pomeranz”

  1. Lynne March 16, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    Thanks Margaret! 😉

Leave a Reply

