Operation Seventy by Forty

5 Apr

Lately, I’ve been feeling… blah. Rushed off my feet, running around like a headless chook, but still… blah. So the other day I sat down and actually tried to put a name to my blah, and figure out if there’s anything I can do to de-blah myself.

Some of it is stuff I can do little or nothing about, but a large chunk of it is that I feel fat. I had a very nice time over the Christmas/New Years’ period, and I’ve been baking a lot of lunch-box-type snacky goodies, and eating them. I’m back up to the size I was immediately after having my babies, and I don’t like that one bit. So I’ve decided to do something about it. I have set myself a long-term goal of being 70kg* by the time I turn 40. That gives me a shade over six months to lose 18kg. I feel like this is totally achievable, if I do it sensibly. I’m not going on “a diet”; I know that that doesn’t work in the long term. I’ll do it by eating better, and moving more. I’m starting by cutting out between-meals grazing, and implementing a good brisk walk every day.

So here we go:

Height: 170cm

Weight: 88kg

BMI: 30

Goal: 70kgs

I’ll check back with you next Sunday with my first “results show” update. Any and all cheering-on gratefully accepted.

 

*For my American friends, my current weight is 194 lb, I’m 5’7″ tall, and I want to lose 39lb for a goal weight of 155lb.

9 Responses to “Operation Seventy by Forty”

  1. Regenia April 5, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    Good for you. I’m so proud of you for recognizing the source of your blah and setting a reasonable and HEALTHY(!) goal. I’d like you to add a bit to it though to help you keep from being discouraged: take measurements around your thighs, calves, hips, stomach, etc so that if you gain muscle mass you can account for the weight increase in the decrease of these measurements. Any time I walk a lot I bulk up in my calves, so it takes forever for me to lose enough to see my weight actually decrease. You don’t have to post these, but they may help you see quicker results.

  2. amy April 6, 2009 at 12:15 am #

    Thank you for the conversions, they are beyond me this morning. Good luck, long-distance friend. If I could trade with you I would. I’ve not been eating enough lately because it is such an enormous effort to feed myself on top of everything else. I would gladly eat all the stuff you made so you didn’t have to. 🙂

  3. becky c. April 6, 2009 at 6:07 am #

    Good for you! My weight loss has been all one step forward two steps back lately, but with the weather getting warmer, I feel a bit more motivated to get outside and move.

  4. becky c. April 6, 2009 at 6:41 am #

    I have nominated you for a Kreativ Blogger award! See my blog for details.

    http://knitasha.typepad.com

  5. joyknits April 6, 2009 at 12:32 pm #

    Good luck, and thanks for the conversions! Having raised the critters, I can just *see* the headless chook 😉

  6. Tinkingbell April 6, 2009 at 1:44 pm #

    Well done – and very brave!!

    I have been going to the gym for 6 months and have lost very little weight – but have dropped nearly 2 clothes sizes – I agree about the measuring

    Of course, I might lose some weight if I quit drinking and chocolate….

    How about we cheer each other on – I’d quite like to lose 18kg (and a bit more) too!

  7. Leonie April 6, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    I decided on my 35th birthday (October last year)to lose about 10kg in a year. Not as big a goal as yours but I had hormones against me. Couldn’t move any of it until Feb after I had weaned the baby. So now I’ve moved the easy three and am starting to work on the other 7. I am also not playing with the diet much but I am moving more. Swimming 3 times a week and walking to and from school at least once a week. Need to add more walking I think! Good Luck with your efforts and I also agree with the measuring of relevant bits. Muscle weighs more but takes up less space, so your clothing size can drop even if the scales don’t!!

  8. Lynne April 6, 2009 at 8:02 pm #

    Yep, that’d be a reason for the blahs! I’ve been feeling so tired myself lately – doc says 18kg less would be good! Shall we cheer each other on?

  9. cath April 10, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

    You go girl,you can do it!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

