Cross-Mojonation

10 Apr

C’mon, you didn’t think I’d let a glariningly obvious Austen Powers gag just lie there, didja?

dscf0004

Mojo Socks, AKA bed socks for my Boyo.

dscf0005The Vital Statistics:
Pattern:
Mojo (Rav-link), by the lovely Donyale Grant.
Yarn: JL yarn ‘Salvia’ in the poetically named “13” colourway.
Needles: 2.5mm Knitpicks classic fixed circular
Modifications: I knit the first sock more or less according to directions, using Judy’s Magic Cast-on and a reverse stocking-stich Peasant heel, but by the time I got to the second sock, I was just not in the mood for another round of fighting with the yarn (it’s a little splitty) on the Magic Cast-on, so I decided to go with a garter stitchdscf0006 short-row toe and heel. I’m sure I’ll be sorry when (not if) he wears through the heel and I can’t just unravel and reknit the peasant heel on that sock, but for right now I’m just glad to have this project out of my WIP-box and on his long skinny feet. Because now I can get on to Other Projects.

 Like the hideously ugly Sasquatch Socks (which I can’t avoid any longer, so I may as well just suck it up and git ‘er done), or these. And I’ve promised the boys that if they can be good next week while we’re barricaded stuck cooped up staying inside the house while the new roof goes on next door, I’ll take them shopping to pick out some yarn for felted slippers for each of them (hey, it’s not bribery, it’s an incentive program!).

One more sock pic, just for Amy, because I know how much she loves my trademark Sock-in-a-Tree shot:

dscf0002Happy Easter, all. I hope you have a beautiful, relaxing break, and that the Bunny shows you lots and lots of dark-chocolate love.

One Response to “Cross-Mojonation”

  1. Leonie April 12, 2009 at 11:11 pm #

    Hey kids need all the “incentive” they can get. Good luck with next week!

Leave a Reply

