That “Moment of Clarity” thing.

15 Apr

So I figured out why I gained the weight last week. It was That Week. I am preternaturally gifted in the area of pre-menstrual water retention (hey, everybody needs a superpower). I can hold on to anything up to 3kg, which I then pee off in the first couple of days. So when the scales said I’d gained half a kilo, I’d actually lost 2.5kg, and retained 3 litres of water.

I’d forgotten to mark the calendar again. I knew it was sometime soon, but the actual date was anybody’s guess. Perhaps the temper tantrum I threw might have given me a clue, but when I’m PMSing, these hysterical overreactions seem like perfectly proportional responses to the huge global evils conspiring against me.

I never said I was a well balanced woman. You shoulda seen me when I was pregnant. Tech Support and Boyo spent about six months out of nine in duck-and-cover mode when I was expecting Sasquatch.

dscf0023Anyhoo, on to happier topics than my girly-week craziness. The Fireside Cardi! I swatched (yes, I feel perfectly well, thank you. I just don’t want to make any mistakes on this one – I even washed and blocked the swatches!), and got gauge with the prescribed 6mm needles on the stockinette swatch, but my cable swatch is really quite loose. The large cable panel is supposed to be 10cm wide, and mine is almost 13cm. So I decided to go down to a 5.5mm and try again. Discovered that I’ve somehow managed to strip the thread in the screwy-part of one of my 5.5mm Harmony tips. Swore under my breath. This, of course was on Monday, when nothing was open. So I decided to call Carol at Caboodle (my LYS) first thing on Tuesday and see if she had any 5.5mm tips. In the meantime, I very maturely decided I was going to work on a different project. Like Sasquatch’s crime against good taste bed socks. Or the mulberry shawl.

And then I immediately cast on with 5mm needles. And I’m very glad I did, because my big cable is exactly 10cm across. And the fabric is beautifully firm and springy, and the cables really pop!

Squeee!

dscf0028

 

P.S. It rained all weekend again, so next door’s asbestos roof removal has been postponed again.

P.P.S. Despite PMS-related stupidity, I’ll post weight loss on Thursdays starting tomorrow.

4 Responses to “That “Moment of Clarity” thing.”

  1. Leonie April 15, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    Hey we are all allowed vague moments when the hormones are upon us.
    I’ve had a completely frustrating and annoying day and it’s not over yet, and there’s no way I can blame my hormones for the swearing, that was all me!!
    Hooray for the postpone on the asbestos removal, there’s a chance you will have other stuff on if they postpone it long enough and then you won’t be stuck at home 😛

  2. becky c. April 15, 2009 at 9:03 pm #

    Those cables look great – so fun to start such a big beautiful project!

  3. amy April 16, 2009 at 12:41 am #

    I hear you on the craziness. I have some pregnancy moments that would be funny except they actually happened. When lobbying for a third child, I promised there would be no pregnancy craziness, and I am pretty sure I lived up to that. (Maybe having a girl produces less insanity?) Chris says me getting mad that he misplaced an entire new jar of jelly was insanity, but I maintain anyone would be driven crazy by that, pregnant or not.

  4. Lynne April 16, 2009 at 9:27 pm #

    Such a gorgeous cable knit. Would you care to join my laid-back “Winter of Textured Knitting” KAL? No pressure, you don’t even have to finish the project before the end of August [though I’m sure you will – you must be looking forward to wearing it!]

Leave a Reply

