Yay me!

23 Apr

Sorry, gang – I didn’t mean to drop off the face of the earth like that. I’ve just been a bit other-directed. The Fireside cardi is utterly addictive, and only grows more beautiful with each new cable-cross. See?

dscf0039

In other news, the asbestos roof next door was removed over the last couple of days, during which the boys were so amazingly good that I was starting to wonder if the Fair Folk came in the night and pulled the old switcheroo*. Declarations of eternal friendship were made, and sentiments like you’re my very bestest brother in the whole wide world were tossed about willy-nilly, until I began to fear for my sanity. Or maybe the usual shrieking and fighting was going on, and I was just having weight-loss related hallucinations.

Because weight has indeed been lost:

  • Weight: 86.0
  • BMI: 30
  • Loss this week: 1.1 kg
  • Total loss so far: 2kg

I’m feeling a bit smug about it all at the moment. Don’t worry, it’ll pass – I’m sure the universe is plotting my comeuppance as I type this. 😉

*After reading that article I linked to, I have to wonder how many Autistic and Asperger’s kids were abused, mistreated or even killed by parents who wanted their ‘real’ children back. Incidentally, today I have my real children back; they are fighting like cat and dog, there have been no less than three temper tantrums between them. Just now I had to drag them in from the backyard and make them change into dry clothes after a spectacular waterfight (I’m assuming it was spectacular from the state of their clothes). If it were summer I probably would have joined in, but it’s really not warm enough just now for that sort of silliness. Sigh. There’s no such thing as a happy medium with these two.
6 Responses to “Yay me!”

  1. bells April 23, 2009 at 6:01 pm #

    Amazing cable! Great work. I’d be besotted.

    Good work on the loss!

  2. becky c. April 24, 2009 at 9:35 am #

    Your sweater is going to be so great!!

  3. Lynne April 24, 2009 at 11:24 am #

    Fireside is looking fabulous.

    Glad the boys were good for their ‘confinement’.

    Congratulations on the weight loss. I continue to eat and not exercise so I’m falling behind!

  4. Leonie April 24, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

    The knitting looks great and the kids sound normal. That whole Jekyl and Hyde thing of behaving and then not….does my head in on a regular basis.

  5. Tinkingbell April 24, 2009 at 3:35 pm #

    Such a beautiful cable – I’m glad the pattern was waiting for you!

    Yes – when my children are that lovely – I often wonder where my REAL children are!

    And go you on the weight loss! Well done!

  6. Kate April 28, 2009 at 9:31 pm #

    Those are gorgeous cables! You are mean to be showing me such beauty while I’m k2p2-ing on sleeves…what an enabler!
    :>

Leave a Reply

