Stalking the postie.

20 May

My man truly knows the way to a woman’s heart. The Friday before Moher’s Day, Tech Support sat me down in front of the computer, gave me a budget and said “Go!”.

Hee.

These arrived yesterday:

9780312362911Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day: The Discovery That Revolutionizes Home Baking. I have been considering this book for quite a while, but was hesitant to buy it, because if the “discovery” was a crock, then I’d be stuck with a cookbook good for nothing but taunting me with pictures of bread I didn’t have time to bake. A couple of weeks ago I managed to scrounge up one of the recipes online, and tested it out. Oh, it works all right! It was a major enabler in the Ploughman’s Lunch incident(s)  the other week. Don’t worry, it’s turning out to be a bit like the espresso machine. I went a bit nuts at first, but now I’ve settled down into a steady routine of having only two or three cups of coffee a day (which is actually less than I was drinking before the espresso machine hit the scene, partly because espresso is a much more efficient caffeine delivery mechanism, but mostly because it’s too much like hard work to fire up the machine, make the coffee, and then clean up afterwards). Likewise, even though I’m baking bread almost every day, I’m not eating all that much of it, and when I do, I’m factoring it into my points tally for the day. Anyway, I can highly recommend this book for anyone who loves good bread, but is too time-poor to actually bake it for themselves. The recipes are clear and easy to follow, and the bread produced is really, really good.

9780486449067Next up:

Historic Costumes and How To Make Them. I have some (possibly lunatic) ideas for clothes I want to make, and if I can get my act together timewise, you all get to watch the crazy! I’ll keep you posted.

There’s more goodies still to come (the Book Depository ships books out individually, which makes a multiple book order order kinda like an extended Christmas!), so stay tuned, kiddies.

 

 

(I filched these pics from the Book Depository website. Just so you know)

3 Responses to “Stalking the postie.”

  1. Tinkingbell May 20, 2009 at 8:11 pm #

    Lovely pressie – and the book depository is the best!

  2. amy May 20, 2009 at 10:36 pm #

    You know, my sister knows quite a bit about making historical clothes–17th century, to be specific. Just saying. Let me know if you want me to hook you up. 🙂

    I love getting books in the mail. Yesterday I tried to be responsible and I put several of the ones on my wish list on hold through the library, so I can check them out before buying them. But I always want to buy them in the end.

  3. Leonie May 21, 2009 at 2:07 pm #

    Soooooo, the bread book. Do all of the recipes use yeast? Or are there some with “home grown” yeasts? My tummy and yeast aren’t exactly on the best of terms, but I can do “natural” sourdoughs. Just asking.

Leave a Reply

