Thursday weigh-in #4, and another book in my mailbox.

21 May
  • Weight: 82.8
  • BMI: 29
  • Loss this week: 1.4kg !!!  😀
  • Total loss so far: 5.2kg
  • I am BACK, baby! The Points Nazi (that would be me) has come through big time this week.

    9781584797135Also, another book has arrived: Custom Knits by Wendy Bernard. I’ve wanted this from the minute I heard Wendy had a book in the works. When I actually saw the cover, I was lost! I. MUST. HAVE. THIS. JUMPER!!! For this jumper I am willing to overcome my fear of Fairisle AND Steeking! That’s how much I want it. Also, the book has a section on top-down set-in sleeves, which is a technique I’ve wanted to learn for ages, but I’ve never been able to get my hands on the Bible of Top-down, Knitting From The Top by Barbara Walker (every time I have the cash, the book is unavailable. Yes, I realise that if I just held onto the cash, I could buy the book when next it became avalable. Your words are starnge and incomprehensible to me. What means this “logic” of which you speak?). So I’m very, very interested to read this book (which is something I don’t normally do with knitting books – I generally just launch myself straight into the knitting).

     At the risk of repeating myself, I LOVE my postie!

    5 Responses to “Thursday weigh-in #4, and another book in my mailbox.”

    1. Tinkingbell May 21, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

      This book and Stephanie Japels are just great – I reckon the postie likes you too – you can probably hear your squeals of delight in Melbourne!

      Well done on the weightloss – I’m so pleased with mine!

      • Taphophile May 21, 2009 at 6:59 pm #

        Custom Knits is a good book. I really didn’t want to like it (I’m not a fan of hers) but there are at least 5 patterns I want to knit.

    2. Lynne May 21, 2009 at 9:04 pm #

      Well done!

    3. Leonie May 21, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

      Way to go Points Nazi! Clocking up those numbers now. Next thing you know you will be buying smaller “smalls” because you will be too small for your current ones!!

    4. amy May 21, 2009 at 11:06 pm #

      I stalked Amazon for that book. The day after I mentioned on my blog I wanted it, it went out of stock. (I’m not claiming responsibility for that, but still.) So I stalked and stalked and finally ordered, then stalked the website some more waiting for my package to ship. It was worth it–I have Plans, once I get some knitting time and knit the boys some sweaters and something for Grace and… yeah, I’ll get to the stuff for me!

      What do you mean, “not available”? Not available in Australia, or out of print? ‘Cause I have a copy of Walker’s book that I’m sure I bought new from someplace here, and if it’s not available in Australia, Things Can Be Arranged, you know. 🙂

    Leave a Reply

