Thursday #5

28 May
Well, it seems at least four people are still willing to speak to me after last week’s P&P&Z post. I’m so glad (BTW, did you know that Lady Catherine de Burgh had an army of ninjas? Neither did I, but it makes so much sense!).
  • Weight: 83
  • BMI: 29
  • This week: gain of 200g 
  • Total loss so far: 5.okg
  • As you can see, I’ve had a little gain again. No excuses other than pure slackness on my part. I’ve been doing other stuff than exercising, you see. Plus there’s been lots of fun stuff happening, most of which involved food (although, seriously? All the running around I’ve done this week should have counted for something!). I’ve got to get back on track this week, because I’m coming into Bloat Week again. Helpfully, today was our school’s Biggest Morning Tea event. So there I was, surrounded by ooey-gooey cakes, cookies and slices (which I valiantly ignored in favour of tiny chicken-salad sandwiches) while I supported both the school and the Cancer Council. Sigh. They (they being The Huge Universal Conspiracy Against Me, hereafter designated as THUCAM) don’t make it easy.

    In other news, I’ve been given all my Semester 1 assessment materials for my TAFE curse course (hmm, that was a Freudian typo if ever I saw one). I’m confident I can get it all done easily and with time to spare. The course is only half over, but I’ve decided to transfer out of classroom teaching into OTEN (TAFE’s online distance education facility). That way I can work around the kids (literally if needs be – I learned how to type around a sleeping baby when Josh was in his clingy stage), and I know now that I can handle the material without needing an actual teacher physically present. So I’ll pick up the rest of the course later in the year. Then, who knows, I may even continue on for a further I.T. course, or maybe study something completely different. I’ll see how I like the OTEN experience.

    I have circled the culprit, even though it's glaringly obvious to anyone with eyes.

    I have circled the culprit, even though it's glaringly obvious to anyone with eyes.

    Also, the knitting Gods are clearly in league with THUCAM. I was merrily knitting along yesterday, when I got to the armpit of Front #2 on my Fireside cardi, and I checked it against Front #1 to see if everything was matchy-matchy. Nope. I’d done the bust increases about ten rows too soon on the second front. So I frogged back to the appropriate point, noticing in passing that I’d also forgotten the last two buttonholes, and thinking Oh well, I would have had to rip back anyway. Then I got everything back on the needles, and started knitting again. I plugged away at it all afternoon (remembering the buttonholes this time) and by 9pm I had myself back to the armpit point again. Which is when I noticed the mis-crossed cable. Not in a place where I can work the Harlot’s magic cheat, but right about solar plexus level where everybody can see it. So today I had to rip back.

    Again.

    5 Responses to “Thursday #5”

    1. Taphophile May 28, 2009 at 7:16 pm #

      Oh poop. A big grrrr at THUCAY. That should scare it away – worked on the dog when I practiced it.

    2. Leonie May 28, 2009 at 9:24 pm #

      Man look at those cables, they’re mad!!
      Pity about the frogging, definitely worth it though!

    3. Lynne May 28, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

      Egad! Too many zombies at your place!! LOL

    4. knightlyknitter May 29, 2009 at 8:15 pm #

      Ha Ha! this maketh me the fourtheth personest , and yes, Lady Catherine de Burgh having an army of ninjas is kind of apposite!! I’m intrigued….
      And as for the deliberately difficult behaviour of your Aran, well, I’d be raising that glass of wine a little higher and making snip-snip noises with the scissors – standover tactics definitely have a useful place in the knitter’s arsenal.
      (And it’s Pinot Grigio at my house tonight, of which I’ve had ample – can you tell????)
      mwah!

    5. cathy May 30, 2009 at 8:44 pm #

      Did I miss something? Interesting books though!! Im after Matthew Reillys book “Hell Island”!!

    Leave a Reply

