Delayed reaction, perhaps?

30 May

I have Tennis Elbow. Which is interesting, considering I haven’t played tennis since I was like, 12 years old, and my tennis coach took me aside and told me (in the nicest possible way) that everybody is good at something, and maybe, just maybe, tennis was not my thing. She was so sweet about it that I really couldn’t be upset, especially because I did suck most ferociously.

My doctor has prescribed anti-inflammatory meds, an elastic support bandage, and specific exercises, and told me that if there is no improvement in a month, it will mean an incredibly painful cortisone shot, which may or may not work. Interestingly, the literature he gave me said that I should avoid things like ironing, but there is no mention whatsoever of knitting. Hah!

6 Responses to “Delayed reaction, perhaps?”

  1. bells May 30, 2009 at 10:06 pm #

    well thank God for that! Hope it feels better soon.

  2. Christianne May 30, 2009 at 10:59 pm #

    I am still recovering from my bout of “tennis elbow” I had more success with Ionto treatments than the cortisone shot – and lots of PT. Knitting did flare it up, so I had to learn to knit continental, too. I hope you feel better soon! Oh – and I never played tennis 🙂

  3. beentsy May 31, 2009 at 3:15 am #

    Ironing should just be avoided on principle. 😉

  4. amy May 31, 2009 at 7:02 am #

    I hope it’s feeling better soon! And I’m with beentsy. I don’t iron!

  5. becky c. May 31, 2009 at 10:33 am #

    Eeeeek! Hope it really isn’t the knitting. You got the “no ironing” order in writing, right?

  6. Lynne May 31, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

    I’ve had the ‘extremely painful cortisone injection’ and it is exactly that! I had mine in my shoulder in Jan 2008.

    Seriously, I would limit the knitting if I were you – a few weeks without knitting [you will survive – ask me how I know!!] is better than just one of these injections!!

    All the best for a speedy recovery.

Leave a Reply

