Update

31 May

Thank you all for your comments and well-wishes regarding my Not-Tennis Elbow.

Just to clarify, knitting isn’t causing me any pain, or I would stop doing it. I may be obsessive, but I’m not certifiable (quite). I’m cutting back on my knitting anyway, but I have one stealth project three-quarters done that needs to be finished in about two weeks, and I would very much like to finish the Fireside Cardi in time for Bendi (seven weeks away), though I’m flexible on that – I may even leave the sleeves off and just wear it as a vest. You can see one such here (Ravelink) – I think it looks pretty nice, and I could always add the sleeves on later if I wanted. Speaking of which, I’m almost finished the left front. All buttonholes are present and accounted for, the shoulder-decreases are almost done, and there haven’t been any further cock-ups (knock wood). Then it’s a simple matter of 12cm of collar and I’m half-done if it’s a vest, or 1/3 done if I’m doing sleeves.

The activities that are causing me trouble are mostly extension and lifting actions. For instance, reaching into the pantry for the cookie-jar is really painful – good news if one is trying to lose weight, but not so much if one is a small boy wanting a snack. I am very, very right-handed; it just never occurs to me to open a door or pick something up left-handed. But I am trying very hard to remember to lead with my left at the moment.

And the up-side is, I have that Get Out Of The Ironing Free Card. There’s always a silver lining, isn’t there? 🙂

5 Responses to “Update”

  1. Christianne May 31, 2009 at 10:43 pm #

    That’s good news. Knitting didn’t cause me pain either – while I was doing it. The doctor told me I could do anything that didn’t hurt. I think he was wrong. After my PT watched me knit, she advised me to learn another way and to alternate them, because that motion is exactly what inflames the tendon. The gripping/reaching is pretty typical – that’s when you notice how inflamed the tendon is. Good luck with it – I’ve been injured since november – mine was torn, so I would likey think it takes longer to heal 🙂 And Ice is your friend.

  2. amy May 31, 2009 at 11:54 pm #

    I learned to do lots of things lefty with a baby around. I always have the baby (whichever one we’re talking about) in my right arm. I’ve brushed teeth, eaten, you name it with my left hand. I like to think I’m keeping my brain young and protected from Alzheimer’s, since supposedly doing things with your non-dominant hand keeps the brain limber.

    Chris irons his own damn stuff. 🙂 All the time. The only time I iron is if it’s part of a sewing project.

  3. cath June 1, 2009 at 12:27 pm #

    Hello!hope your elbow mends very quickly!Its very annoying to lose that “independant” movement,Im trying all the time to train my left to do some things as Ive had a few run ins with this condition,I also have another condition where the blood circulation is restricted to one or both arms,hard to open a door for example when you cant feel your fingers,LOL
    Oh my comment was a result of reading that you only had a few comments as result of something,maybeI read it wrong!!
    On the ironing,I only iron if I going somewhere special and my work shirts as I have to presentable even if Im covered in dust! My assistant on the other hand irons everything obsessivley to the point her son wont wear clothes that arent ironed now!

  4. Leonie June 2, 2009 at 4:51 pm #

    Commiserations on the Tennis elbow. After dislocating my left elbow twice in four months the first when the baby was 5 months old, I understand the impossibility of not using your arm!
    I had the added bonus of having sprained my right wrist when he was 3 months old and it still wasn’t up to par when my elbow went so for a while there I was almost useless. It does improve, but I’ve found that soft tissue injuries just seem to take an awful lot longer to heal than broken bones! Good luck with the knitting….and never go back to the ironing!!!!!

  5. Lynne June 3, 2009 at 11:38 pm #

    Ooo! I used my Get Out Of The Ironing Free card years ago [and it was permanent!]

    The only one I iron for is me because I’m the only one who appreciates it!

Leave a Reply

