The Great Plan proceeds apace.

5 Jun

So, knitting in the library.

It was nuts! Nuts, I tell you! But I believe I have infected indoctrinated started eight or ten kids on the road to Crazyville a new hobby. 

I got there a bit early, and set up three pairs of needles with fifty stiches cast on and one row knit before the bell rang and the crazy started. Within thirty seconds of them walking in the door, I had maybe fifteen kids clamouring for me to cast on for them and show them how to knit! By the end of lunch, I had three or four die-hards who would have happily stayed there all afternoon, humming “In, around, under, off” under their breath.

So much fun! I’m definitely going to keep this up.

Edited to add: After I posted the above, I went back to school to pick the boys up and there was the librarian on duty at bus lines in her hi-vis vest, with three kids all knitting while they waited for the bus! Hee hee hee!

6 Responses to “The Great Plan proceeds apace.”

  1. Leonie June 5, 2009 at 10:59 pm #

    Hey great job of subverting the youth!! There needs to be more young ones out there knitting, if nothing else it will help them with their math!!

  2. amy June 5, 2009 at 11:43 pm #

    That’s just all sorts of awesome!

  3. amy lane June 6, 2009 at 6:30 am #

    OMG–you’re so brave! I do that with high school students some years and it still boggles me!!!

  4. bells June 7, 2009 at 7:59 pm #

    astounding!

  5. becky c. June 8, 2009 at 2:29 am #

    Love it!! Start em young, I say. I got discouraged when neither of my girls were interested, but I should go out and seek rugrats in the wild.

  6. Lynne June 9, 2009 at 7:18 pm #

    Congratulations – how wonderful!

Leave a Reply

