With my big ball of string I can do anything…

8 Jun

Do you remember that book? It was my brother’s pride and joy – a well-deserved reward for half a year of very hard work when he was six or seven years old.

Any way, this post does have a point – well, sorta. The other day I saw that I was nearing the end of my fourth skein of Posmerino, and went to the stash to get another.

When I bought it, Daphne (Rav-link) sent it in three jumbo-skeins, each made up of four regular skeins twisted together. So after I washed it (to get rid of the oil that the manufacturers spray on it to keep fluff from getting into their machinery, and the inevitable dust, dirt and assorted crud that then sticks to the oil – trust me, you DO NOT want to know what colour the wash water was when I pulled the skeins out!), and hung it to dry near the heater, I grabbed the first dry skein and wound it into a ball and started knitting – it had been almost twenty-four hours since I ran out of yarn, and I was having withdrawal symptoms.

Today, I decided I may as well wind the other three skeins into balls, so that I could just keep knitting when I got to the end of this one. So, there I am, with my skeiner/swift and my jumbo ball winder, winding away, and I get to the end of the first skein, and I’m just about to take the first yarn-cake off the winder, when I think to myself “Self, you bought this jumbo ball-winder nearly a year ago, and you haven’t yet tested it’s capacity. Don’t take that yarn cake off and start another, tie them together and just keep a-windin’.”

So I did.

Six-year-old included for scale.

Six-year-old included for scale.

That, my friends, is three entire skeins of aran-weight possum-merino yarn, weighing 297 grams. I could have probably gone another two skeins if I’d had them ready. I really love my jumbo ball winder!

But then, I’m easily amused.  🙂

5 Responses to “With my big ball of string I can do anything…”

  1. knightlyknitter June 8, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    YOWZA YOWZA YOWZA!!

  2. amy June 8, 2009 at 11:19 pm #

    When I saw the picture I thought this was going to be a post on how you’d Tom Sawyer’d your kids to wind your yarn for you. (Do you know the reference? Tom Sawyer has to whitewash the fence, and he doesn’t want to do it, so he makes a big show of how much fun he’s having and gets others to do it for him.) And I was going to say how yesterday I was winding a skein of yarn–the old-fashioned way, yarn skein around the back of a chair–and Nicholas came over and wanted to help. So he did.

    But now I have no relevant comments, except Holy Cow, that’s a big yarn cake!!

  3. amy lane June 9, 2009 at 6:02 am #

    *swoon* I’m not sure which thing turns me on the most–that possumerino, or the nearly 300 gr ball of it, all neat and tidy like that.

    Of course, the cute yarn-bear has nothing to do with how impressive the whole thing might be… (well, maybe a little:-)

  4. Leonie June 9, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

    Seriously big yarn cake, are you going to knit it from the centre or from the outside????

  5. Lynne June 9, 2009 at 7:21 pm #

    And a happy little scale model he is too!

    That’s a nice sized cake of yarn! That’s why I love the 200g balls from Bendigo; I can knit for such a long time and not have so many ends to sew in [except I keep having this compulsion to do colour way knitting!!]

Leave a Reply

