The Stone Is Dead; Long Live The Stone.

10 Jun

The other day, I put a loaf of bread in the oven to bake, and just after I closed the oven door, I heard that noise that you sometimes hear when the oven-tray warps from the heat. You know the one: it’s halfway between a clunk and a bong. And I thought “Hang on, the pizza stone shouldn’t warp like that!” :

DSCF0223

I was right – there was a big-arse crack in my beloved pizza stone (you can tell exactly how beloved by the colour – it has seen a lot of use!). Interestingly (and fortunately), the crack had gone just around the edge of the bread, so I finished baking and then carefully took the pieces out of the oven to show Tech Support. He commiserated, and agreed that another should be procured as soon as possible.

Well, yesterday was pay-day, so after TAFE I quickly stopped into House for a replacement:

 DSCF0227

…and I live to bake another day.

4 Responses to “The Stone Is Dead; Long Live The Stone.”

  1. amy June 11, 2009 at 1:40 am #

    I need a new one. I’ve needed a new one for ages. I like the look of yours!!

  2. bells June 11, 2009 at 9:03 am #

    Well there you go. They do have a limited life span. Do I need one of those? I think I do. I’ve never had one. I see a shopping spree coming on!

  3. Becky C June 12, 2009 at 12:03 am #

    I want to admre the new pizza stone but I can’t stop staring at the gorgeous loaf of bread instead. YUM!

  4. Lynne June 13, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    The bread looks delicious! You’re making me hungry!

    I’ve never used a baking stone – sounds intriguing!

Leave a Reply

