Yummy, yummy eggplant.

29 Jul

eggplants

Nearly three years ago, I knit a tomato.

I didn’t want to knit a tomato, I wanted to knit an eggplant. You see, my sister was having her first baby, and I thought that she and her husband being the foodies that they are (he is a chef, and they run a catering company), they would love an eggplant hat for the baby. So I looked around for purple yarn. There was nothing even remotely right (this was before I had discovered the Blogosphere, so I had no idea of the resources that were actually available to me). In the end, I gave up and bought red yarn, which I turned into a tomato – just a simple little rolled brim beanie, with a green i-cord stem and four or five little sepals. It was a very cute little tomato, but it wasn’t the eggplant I had envisioned, so I was never completely happy with it. However, I gave it to my sister, and she loved it, and her little boy got plenty of wear out of it. At some point (I can’t remember exactly when), I mentioned the eggplant idea to her, and her response (as I knew it would be) was “Oh, that would be too cool!”.

DSCF0329Fast forward a couple of years, and my sister is infanticipating again. A few weeks ago, she asked me if I could make an eggplant hat, “because I love the foodie hats on my babies, and they always get compliments.” I said I was fairly confident I could find some eggplanty yarn at Bendi. Well, I didn’t even have to go all the way to Bendi – I stayed the Thursday night at Mandie’s place, and when I walked in, there it was hanging in front of her fire, just waiting for me: a skein of eggplant-purple sock yarn. The green, of course, is Donni’s famous “Sir Walter” colourway, some of which will comprise the leaves of this little bit of happiness. Should my sister’s bump turn out to be a girl, I’m thinking I will add a couple of little flowers.

800px-Eggplant_flower

So today, I wound Mandie’s gorgeous yarn into a ball and started swatching. For anyone interested in such things, the sock yarn is an absolute delight to knit with. I started out with my default sock needles: 2.5mm, which gave a fabric that was way too dense for a baby hat (but which will be completely perfect for socks). A quick change to 3mm, and I now have a soft, squishy fabric that will be perfect for a little baby head. 

Stay tuned for eggplanty cuteness.

3 Responses to “Yummy, yummy eggplant.”

  1. Leonie July 30, 2009 at 10:09 am #

    That purple looks perfect, yay for Mandie! Can’t wait to see how gthe eggplant works out.

  2. bells July 30, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

    this is a great idea. I might just copy you!

  3. Kate August 1, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

    How cute!! Much nicer than a mini-hamburger-hat, for instance 🙂

Leave a Reply

