Executive Decision

2 Aug

DSCF0001I am going to rip back one of the sleeves of my Fireside cardi.

“What? That old thing?” I hear you ask. “Haven’t you finished it long since and moved on to greener pastures?”mis-crossed cables

Why, no. I brought it home from Bendi, and put it aside until I had some kid-free time in which to really focus on it. And while I did so, I mulled over the pros and cons of ripping back the sleeve. You see, my problems are two-fold. On one of the sleeves, I mis-crossed a few cables. Can’t see ’em? Here, let me help you out (on the right).

You see, the outside crosses always go the same way, but the centre crosses are supposed to alternate. And yet somehow I managed to get four in a row pointing to the right, followed by two to the left. I discussed this with Miss Rose Red at Bendi, and she almost had me convinced I could live with it (until a certain blog post), but what I absolutely cannot live with is this (in the little red box):the big stuff-up

That right there is where I forgot the “resting” round between two “working” rounds. The body pieces were knit flat, and all the right-side rows were working rows, on which I shifted stitches with my cable needle. Then the wrong side rows I just knit all the knits and purled all the purls. The sleeves, however, are worked in the round, and I stuffed up here and forgot the resting round. It’s a small mistake, but an ugly one, and it will make me nuts if I leave it that way.

For those of you who have made it all the way to the end of the post (and who are probably cursing me because you thought you’d seen the end of all the Fireside cardi posts and the constant parade of beige), I will give you a taste of the colour I know you are craving. The Baby Eggplant hat is not quite finished, because the leaf/sepal piece is taking it’s sweet time to dry still blocking. But here are the pieces (click for big):DSCF0011DSCF0013

 

Is it just me, or does the leaf part look like some weird star fish pinned out ready for dissection?

6 Responses to “Executive Decision”

  1. Kylie August 2, 2009 at 6:39 pm #

    really? I’m telling you with all honesty, I am struggling to see it even once pointed out?!

    but, we all know what our personal levels are, so I’ll shut up and not confuse the issue 🙂

    the little hat is mighty cute, too

  2. Rose Red August 2, 2009 at 7:44 pm #

    I still stand by my view about the not frogging because of the cables (because I still couldn’t find the mistake until you pointed it out) but I guess that missing resting row is probably a good reason to frog, combined with the other.

    Did I mention I made a mistake in one of the cables on Bruegel and I just left it…and I’m not frogging it!

  3. Leonie August 2, 2009 at 8:25 pm #

    Oh crap, again! But here’s to decisive decision making! I’m feeling so much happier about frogging the rainbow cardy I was making, I always dreaded picking it up and now it is gone and I have 3 little socks to show for it….sssshhhhhhhh

  4. Tinkingbell August 3, 2009 at 11:29 am #

    NOOOOOOOOOOOO!

    OK – you are brave and strong and I would have left it. So there (in fact – I may not even have noticed…)

    Like the hat – and the sepal does look a bit like Patrick the starfish!

  5. Kate August 9, 2009 at 9:40 am #

    We Do What We Must.

    (cute hat!)

  6. Lynne September 5, 2009 at 9:28 am #

    Starfish? Yes, kinda… but the stem makesit obvious that is is not a starfish but a sepal. Well done you.

    And commiserations on the sleeve – just think how good you will feel when it’s finally done AND right!

Leave a Reply

