seaming issues

19 Aug

When I opened my inbox this morning, there was an email from Knightly Knitter chanting for demanding politely requesting the promised FO post on my Fireside cardi. Sadly, I cannot yet comply. Because I do not yet have a Finished Object. What I do have is this:

fireside body

Two very lovely mattress-stitch side-seams (without a doubt, the nicest seams I’ve ever done). I am presently stymied on the shoulder seams – they keep turning out lumpy and ugly. I Googled for an answer, and have been just about buried under an avalanche of tutorials and videos demonstrating  various kinds of shoulder seam for stocking stitch, but nothing for reverse stocking stitch, which is what I’m (mainly) working with here. fireside neck&shoulderI kind of know what the answer is – rip back the collar part ’til I’ve got live stitches, do a three-needle bind-off and then re-knit the collar, but… I don’t wanna! Seriously, I’ve ripped back enough on this project. By the time I finish this sodding thing, it’s going to be too bloody hot to wear it.

So, can anybody offer me a non-three-needle bind-off method of finishing these shoulders? I’ll be your best friend.

In 70×40 news, I’ve been super-focussed all week, sticking faithfully to my 18 points, adding an extra 90min work-out on Monday on top of all my usual walking and exercycling, and I don’t feel deprived or overworked at all – in fact, I’m feeling really chipper. Tomorrow we shall see what the pay-off is. Dun-dun-DUUUUUHHHHN!  😉

6 Responses to “seaming issues”

  1. Rose Red August 19, 2009 at 3:29 pm #

    I always (but always) backstitch my shoulder seams (if I can’t do 3ndl bind off). So I guess I’m not much help…but I’m pretty sure my Vogue mini knitting guide book show how to seam reverse stocking stitch. Good luck (darn sure I wouldn’t be ripping it back!!)

  2. Regenia August 19, 2009 at 10:04 pm #

    You mean you don’t automatically set up your shoulders to do a 3-needle bo? I haven’t done anything else since I figured out that gem… Could you pick up live stitches and use them for a 3-needle bo? I’ve done this before, but I can’t remember what on.

  3. Leonie August 19, 2009 at 10:10 pm #

    Sorry, no can help. No way of doing a graft?

  4. joyknits August 19, 2009 at 11:14 pm #

    That is seriously gorgeous! How about grafting by scooping up a stitch on each side just below the bind-off? Sorry, it’s very easy to demo, a bear to try to describe. Good luck – it certainly deserves to be done 😉

  5. becky c. August 20, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    What if you take out the bind off and Kitchner them together on the wrong (stockinette) side? I know, I know, you don’t wanna rip!! But you have spent way too freaking long on this beautiful sweater to hate the shoulders. Pout and fume another day and then see how you feel.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thursday weigh-in #16 « Kiss My Frog - August 20, 2009

    […] to everybody who commented yesterday. I’m presently… erm… collating data (AKA dithering). I’ll get back to you […]

Leave a Reply

