I just had a lightbulb!

20 Aug

You know the old saying about that thin line between genius and insanity?

I’ve had a possible epiphany about the shoulder seams, and I wanted to run it by you guys to see if I am about to ascend the heights or if I’m actually sitting in a puddle of my own drool. So here goes:

Fireside Cast-off EdgeWhat if I snip a stitch halfway along the cast-off edge (about where I’ve put the Harmony tip in the pic at left) and carefully unpick both ways, and then use the live stitches thus exposed to do the three-needle bind off? That way (I think), I avoid ripping back the collar pieces, and I have a long enough tail at each end of the shoulder that I can weave in my ends, but I still have the good, beautiful, neat, strong, stretchy, [insert positive adjective of your choice here] three-needle bind off.

What’s the verdict? Genius or insanity?

I’m going to go have some lunch and mull it over a bit.

4 Responses to “I just had a lightbulb!”

  1. Tinkingbell August 20, 2009 at 12:54 pm #

    What about a kitchener or graft if you do that? Just saying…

    and I did another 700 – so I have now lost 13kg – woot for both of us!

  2. Kate August 20, 2009 at 8:26 pm #

    Great minds…unpicking is a pain, but far less traumatic than ripping back to that point!! And grafting vs 3needle bindoff – do you want smoothity, or a shoulder seam?

    (not mentioning the utter fabulousness of your dedication to weight-loss – too shamefaced over recent lack of activity – blaming the ills)

  3. Regenia August 20, 2009 at 10:03 pm #

    This could work. Just as a reminder though, kitchener vs 3-needle bo isn’t just about how you want the shoulder to look. It’s also about how you want it to function. Kitchenering it wouldn’t provide much stability. The weight from the cables could cause your shoulders to stretch and sag. The 3-needle bo, however, is both stretchy enough to allow for movement, but stable enough to actually support the sweater.

  4. SlipStitchAndPass October 8, 2009 at 10:56 am #

    Hi there!!! I just discovered the fireside cardi on Ravelry after watching The Holiday and freeze-framing Cameron Diaz’ sweater. Yummy deliciousness. I haven’t cast on yet, but to answer your question above – DO IT !! I’ve done it a few times, once on a top-down raglan to pick up the collar stitches across the front. Its totally worth it and way better than frogging back.

    Genius.

    You’ve probably already done this by now (Oct 7th) and are proudly wearing the most gorgeous thing in beige I can imagine… but yeah, I just wanted to comment on that.

    Carry on 🙂

    Jane
    SlipStitchAndPass

Leave a Reply

