Cupcakes.

25 Aug

My Sasquatch is a bright little button, but also rather lazy and very, very stubborn. This has led to some battles in the classroom, not to mention some truly irritating letters home from the Stage One Co-ordinator: We require you to discuss this matter with Sasquatch, and develop some good work habits for him. If she can get the kid to do anything he doesn’t want to do, good luck to her. In fact, if she can do that I will cheerfully proclaim her superiority in the public forum of her choosing (just to clarify, I am not a fan. She is officious and pushy, and I don’t like her manner with the kids, or the tone she regularly takes with me. But this this post is not about her…).

Meanwhile, Sasquatch’s classroom teacher (a lovely woman and a fabulous teacher) and I have had our heads together, and have come up with a reward program for him. When he participates in his reading groups, or does his handwriting, or any of the other things that he doesn’t find thrilling and fun, he gets a sticker on his card. When he gets fifty stickers on his card, he gets a treat. The first treat was one of those glitter balls that are all the rage (and yes, I am aware of the voluntary recall on them. I pointed out the warning sticker to Sasquatch when we first brought the ball home, and when he isn’t playing with it, he very carefully puts it away underneath his Bob the Builder hard-hat, in his sock drawer).

This is treat number two:

cupcake boy

Two dozen cupcakes to share with his classmates. When I asked his teacher’s permission, she thought I was brilliant: “What a great idea – giving him the concept of sharing his success. If he wins, everybody wins!” But, as much as I wish I could take the credit for this, it was entirely Sasquatch’s idea. He loves to help in the kitchen, and he loves to share. 

Lazy and stubborn he may be, but he is also thoughtful and generous. There are worse traits.

8 Responses to “Cupcakes.”

  1. amy August 25, 2009 at 10:49 pm #

    Hmm, I have a smart, stubborn kid too. Two of them, actually, but the 5yo won’t even brush his teeth and get dressed without a major struggle. I have NO idea how I’m going to get him out the door and on the bus every morning. In his pajamas maybe? I sure hope his teacher has some ideas. But yes, mine is thoughtful and generous too. I try to remind myself that I WANT to raise a free-thinking adult, and not a drone. Sometimes it helps. 🙂

  2. Kate August 26, 2009 at 7:15 am #

    What a great way to motivate him!! Peer adulation!!
    :>

  3. kissmyfrog August 26, 2009 at 8:16 am #

    And it was all his idea, I swear. I jumped right on board, but he came up with it. I actually had to put a limit on him – he wanted me to make cupcakes for the whole school!
    But the other kids in his class all think he’s a hero. One little girl came charging out of the classroom on Monday, shouting “Mum, mum! If Sasquatch gets one more sticker, WE GET CUPCAKES!!!”

  4. Kylie August 26, 2009 at 9:23 am #

    I love how the whole class is involved in helping him succeed – brilliant! Thoughtful and generous are lovely traits, and i’m sure that, whilst presently frustrating, if his stubbornness is well managed now it will also serve him well in later life 😉

  5. Tinkingbell August 26, 2009 at 9:36 am #

    Brilliant and lots of fun

    Please don’t tell my kids – truly – my icing is crap – but I’ll make them muffins!

  6. becky c. August 26, 2009 at 11:44 pm #

    Such cute cupcakes! Can just imagine the joyful chaos in his class that day.

  7. Leonie August 27, 2009 at 10:01 pm #

    He looks so pleased! Good on him for wanting to share and good on him for scoring 100 stickers! Go Sasquatch!!

  8. Gae Fenske August 29, 2009 at 9:33 am #

    Just promise me that the Co-ordinator did not get a cupcake, because she has definitely NOT earned one. Sounds like the Blame the Parenting School of Thought. Officious and pushy is no way to deal with children – the really bright ones hate it and tend to react badly.

    Youngest grandchild (a very forceful female) has, admittedly, frequently heard their mother telling older brother that correcting Little Miss “is not his job”. Little Miss has adopted the phrase as her own personal mantra, and is trying it out on Mum. Mind you, when Mum was the same age her first complete sentence was “I do it MYSELF !!” We have worked out that little apples don’t fall far from the tree……….

    Tell the Co-ordinator that she needs a refresher course in co-ordinating,

    Gae, in Callala Bay

Leave a Reply

